Martin added  to ICE-CP list
May 14, 2013

Martin added to ICE-CP list

President of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Volleyball Association Eardley Martin has joined three other Vincentians who have successfully completed the International Coaching Enrichment Certification Programme (ICE-CP).{{more}}

Martin completed an advanced coaching programme which concluded in Lausanne, Switzerland last month, joining fellow countrymen Rosmund Griffith, Rawlson Morgan and Kallique Bailey, who have attained the certification.

Martin was part of the 2013 graduating class of 28, of the fifth edition of the ICE-CP programme, who were inducted on April 30.

During the five-week period in September/ October last year, Martin was involved in specialized training in volleyball and all its composite parts, which was conducted at the Delaware University for two weeks, along with a weekend in Washington DC, as well as an apprenticeship period of one week at Princeton University in New Jersey.

Additionally, Martin spent two weeks in Colorado Springs at the USA Olympic training facility.

On his return to St Vincent and the Grenadines, Martin embarked on his thesis entitled “Long-term Athlete Development Plan”, where he looked at a comprehensive developmental structure for volleyball in St Vincent and the Grenadines, from the ground up.

As a part of the final module, participants presented their projects to the ICE-CP Academic Board at the International Olympic Committee headquarters in Lausanne.

The ICE-CP is a collaborative effort between the United States Olympic Committee, the University of Delaware and the International Olympic Committee – and included coaches from five continents, 28 countries and 11 sports.

Apart from St Vincent and the Grenadines’ representative, the class of 2013 also included coaches from Australia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Fiji, Gambia, Grenada, Indonesia, Jordan, Lesotho, Macedonia, Malaysia, Maldives, Nigeria, Oman, Palestine, Peru, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Sudan, Suriname, Taiwan, Uruguay, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. (RT)