July 6, 2012
GSSS dethrones GSS as schools’ Cricket champions

A 95-run unbroken fourth wicket partnership between Player of the Final Asif Hooper (51) and Romario Grant (40) successfully saw the George Stephens Secondary School chase down the 182 for 8 off their 40 overs, posted by the defending champions,{{more}} Georgetown Secondary, to earn a seven-wicket win and take the 2012 United Insurance Schools’ title on Monday at the Arnos Vale One Playing Field.

Hooper and Grant came together at the score of 90 for 3, and did not depart as they saw their team to victory, thus dethroning the Georgetown Secondary.

Hooper’s match-winning innings lasted 48 balls, as he lashed six fours.

Chipping in with the efforts of Hooper and Grant were Terran Barnum, who made 39 and Wesley Williams, who struck 29.

When Georgetown batted, Ray Jordan led from the front, as he topscored with 67; Othneil Lewis made 29, Kimrom Quashie 23, and there were 27 extras.

Bowling for George Stephens, Daren Greaves took 3 for 6 and Darius Martin 2 for 33.

The George Stephens Secondary was given $500 as the winner’s purse, along with the challenge trophy and a replica.

A beaming GSSS Coach Rosmund Griffith told SEARCHLIGHT last Monday that it was an allround effort this time around, which saw them go one better than last year’s efforts.

“Team work was our main focus, discipline, sticking together, because we realized we needed a stronger chain, so from last year, we have learnt from our mistakes,” Griffith said, as she reflected on her team’s performance.

Griffith, who was overseas for the earlier part of the competition, said despite her absence, she was in constant contact with the players, often reminding them of the aim, which was to win the competition.

“They did me proud, even in my absence, by dominating all of their games, showing that they have hidden talents which were shown out in the finals,” Griffith concluded.

The George Stephens Secondary came out on top in Zone A, then steamrolled Central Leeward Secondary by 242 runs in the quarter-finals and moved on to demolish the St Vincent Grammar School by 207 runs in the semi-finals.

Other zonal winners were the St Vincent Grammar School in Zone B; Petit Bordel Secondary claimed Zone C and the St Clair Dacon Secondary were Zone D winners. (RT)