March 7, 2014
Vincentians to have visa waiver for Schengen states – PM

In the not too distant future, Vincentians may be able to benefit from a visa waiver for all countries of the European Union that are in the Schengen area.{{more}}

This was announced by Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves, while speaking at the launch of e-passports in St Vincent and the Grenadines this week.

“The European Commission and the European Parliament just passed it last week for us to have visa waivers to Schengen states. Schengen states being all the countries in the European Union, save and except Britain,” he said.

The measure is, however, not yet final, Gonsalves indicated, as there are procedures that will need to be worked out.

“There are some procedural things still and we have to have a negotiation with them, because they gave the waiver, we (also) have to give the waiver to all their countries, including… Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia and we have no problem with that at all,” the Prime Minister said.

Currently, there are 28 member states in the European Union. The countries that require a Schengen visa include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. (BK)