North Leeward crowns new Soca Monarch
Joel ‘Fugitive’ Bibby of Mad House Entertainment, one of the organisers of the show, is flanked by winners of the North Leeward Soca Monarch, Klyvert ‘KTB’ Brown (left) and Jahlil ‘Vyper’ Williams.
Front Page
June 11, 2024

North Leeward crowns new Soca Monarch

KTB and Vyper with their soca duet ‘Sideman’ received the judges nod landing in position number one in the North Leeward Soca Monarch competition held last Saturday June 8, 2024. The duo forced ‘Leave the liquor’ singer, Fry Yiy to settle for second place after carrying strong momentum into the competition; while Aidol with his popular Soca song ‘Way the scene?’, placed third.


Fry Yiy placed second in the North Leeward Soca Monarch

KTB and Vyper received a cash prize of $2500 along with two high-end smartphones. Fry Yiy received $1500 for second place and third place, Aidol, received $500. The prizes were provided by the sponsors of the competition.

The event promised to feature some of St Vincent and the Grenadines’ young and electrifying talents who were all set and ready to dethrone last year’s winner, ‘Redz’ who failed to place in this year’s competition with his song ‘Gyal & Soca’.

The North Leeward Soca Monarch was executed by a partnership between the North Leeward Sports and Cultural Organisation and Mad House Entertainment headed by entertainer, Joel ‘Fugitive’ Bibby.

Prior to the show, Bibby told SEARCHLIGHT that he was grateful for the opportunity to work with his community in organising the Soca Monarch competition.

On Monday June 10, 2024, Bibby confirmed that the competition was well received by patrons.

Corey ‘Aidol’ McTaIR placed third.

“Everybody was satisfied with the judges results, I don’t think I heard anybody making any queries about it.”

Following Saturday’s Soca Monarch contest, Fry Yiy went on the following day to win the South Leeward Soca Monarch competition, making it his third win so far for Vincymas 2024. He had won the Bagga Soca Monarch competition on June 1, 2024, and before that, the Flow First Run competition on May 17, 2024.