RSVG Police take custody of Calliaqua Football
Champions of Calliaqua Football- RSVG Police
September 9, 2022
RSVG Police take custody of Calliaqua Football

The RSVG Police team are the 2022 Calliaqua Football League champions. The law officers achieved the accolade last Sunday, September 4 at the Calliaqua Playing Field, beating Calli Ballers 3-1 on penalties.

RSVG Police were more clinical with the spot kicks, after both teams could not be separated at the end of regulation time.

Daniel Patrick had put RSVG Police ahead to make it 1-0. However, Javid Mc Dowall restored parity before the end of the first half.

Both teams failed to make good on their chances in the second period of play ending with the score 1-1, thus leaving the title to be decided through the nervy penalty kicks route.

It was the second straight penalty triumph for RSVG Police, who had ousted Glenside Ball Blazers in the semi-finals, 5-3 on penalties . The two had duelled to a 1-1 tie in regulation time.

Meanwhile, Calli Ballers registered a 3-1 triumph over Glen United in the other semi-final game.

Glen United though, secured the third place, edging out Glenside Ball Blazers in the play -off that preceded last Sunday’s final.

The championship closed with the presentation of awards and rewards.

Champions- RSVG Police collected a trophy, medals and a cash prize of $1500. Second place, Calli Ballers got a trophy, medals and $1000; and Glen United pocketed $700 and the third place trophy.

Taking the Player of the Final award was RSVG Police’ Sylvannus Baptiste, who also pouched the Best Goalkeeper trophy.

Taking the Best Defender award was Kenroy Williams, also of RSVG Police; while Zeddy Millington of Glen United, was adjudged the Best Midfielder.

Glenside Ball Blazers’ Jamaar Cropper was the top goal scorer with nine goals.

Organisers also rewarded match officials, Saville Hope and Shelley Williams, for yeoman service for the duration of the competition.