Janalliea Glasgow
July 1, 2022
Mc Coy and Glasgow receive CWI central contracts

Obed Mc Coy and fellow Vincentian, Janalliea Glasgow are among contracted players announced by Cricket West Indies (CWI).

Mc Coy is among 18 men who were given central contracts, while Glasgow has received a development contact.

It is the first time that both Mc Coy and Glasgow have received international contracts. The retainer contract is for the 2022- 2023 period.

The 25 year -old Mc Coy, a left handed medium fast bowler who is emerging as one in demand among T/20 franchises around the world, once fit, is expected to lead the West Indies team’s bowling attack going into the ICC T/20 world cup this year.

Mc Coy last played for the West Indies last October in the ICC World Cup before suffering an injury in his first match against England, but had good performances in the Indian Premier League for runners- up Rajasthan Royals and in the English T/20 Blast for Sussex, earlier this year.

He collected 11 wickets from seven matches in his debut outing for the Royals, and scalped 14 wickets from five matches, playing for Sussex.

His T/20 International career has seen him representing the West Indies in 13 matches. Mc Coy has taken 19 wickets at an average of 16.84 and an economy rate of 7.61.

Meanwhile, Glasgow, also a left arm bowler was a member of the West Indies A team last year in a series versus Pakistan A, and toured with the senior West Indies team to South Africa in January of this year .

Additionally, Glasgow was a travelling reserve for the West Indies in the ICC women’s World Cup held in New Zealand last March/ April.

She is expected to feature for the West Indies in the inaugural Under-19 T/20 world cup in South Africa in January, 2023.

The full list of contracted men is: Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Kraigg Brathwaite, Joshua Da Silva, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith and Hayden Walsh Jr.

The contracted women are Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Jannillea Glasgow, Chinelle Henry, Mandy Mangru, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Kaysia Schultz, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor and Rashada Williams.

Alleyne, Fraser, Gajnabi, Mangru, Shultz and Williams have development contracts.