Radcliffe, Team Rivals win as national T/20 bowls off
January 10, 2017
Radcliffe, Team Rivals win as national T/20 bowls off

Defending champions of the National Lotteries Authority Neil Williams 20/20 competition FLOW Radcliffe made a winning start to the defence of the title when the 2017 edition got going in earnest, last Sunday at the Arnos Vale One Playing Field.

Lindon James belted 5 fours and a pair of sixes in his 44 and Gidron Pope, who came over from the inactive Spartans outfit, hit 3 fours and a six in his 31 not out, as Radcliffe cruised to 84 for 3 in 12.2 overs.

Heading up Group One, Radcliffe’s uncomplicated seven-wicket win was in response to Triumph United’s 80 for 6, made off their 20 overs.

Only Keroy Roberts’ 38 not out was any score of note, as Triumph United’s batting could not negotiate the bowling of Othneil Lewis, who grabbed 4 for 13.

Also on Sunday, last year’s losing finalists Team Rivals made light work of Victors Two, winning by 120 runs, in a Group Two fixture.

Rivals posted 192 for 7 from their allotted 20 overs, led by Casmond Walters’ 67. The powerful right-hander slammed 5 sixes and 5 fours, while Roneil Jeffrey struck 5 sixes in his 41 not out. Hyron Shallow chipped in with 34 and there were 24 extras conceded by Victors Two.

In response, Victors Two were caged at 72 for 5 from their 20 overs. Adinol Richards, batting at the top of the order, was left on 47 not out, in which he struck 3 fours and a six.

Bowling for Team Rivals, Rasheed Fredericks packed 2 for 10 and Deighton Butler – 2 for 14.

Apart from Radcliffe and Triumph United, lodged in Group One are newcomers  Owia Stars, Victors One, Combined Youths and Strike Eagles.

Team Rivals lead Group Two, which also comprises Police, Smashers, Radcliffe Too, Victors Two and another debutant – RW Sporting World SVG Community College.

And, in Group Three are Guardian General Saints, ASCO, Bequia Cricket Association, North Leeward and Belfongo.

Following the preliminary round of competition, the two top teams from each of the groups will advance to a Super Six.

The Super Six phase will be a round robin format, with the two top teams squaring off in the grand final.(RT)