July 11, 2014
SVG settle for third in Windwards Under-19 cricket tournament

St Vincent and the Grenadines have to wait another year, to try once again, to lay hands on the Windwards Under-19 two-day cricket title.{{more}}

As host for the tournament, St Vincent and the Grenadines finished on 18 points, one fewer than second placed team St Lucia.

The Vincentians had to come from behind to oust the St Lucians by three wickets, to claim their lone outright win in their three matches, having won on first innings against Dominica and losing outright to Grenada.

Playing at Arnos Vale One, St Lucia posted 156, batting first; Dornan Edwards made 27, Collinus Callendar – 26 and Kester Charlmange – 20.

Bowling for St Vincent and the Grenadines, Othneil Lewis had 2 for 18 and Kimali Williams 2 for 34.

In reply, St Vincent and the Grenadines fell short by four runs, making 156. Team captain Anson Lachman led the way with 51, as Dornan Edward grabbed 4 for 29, Selwyn Boyce had 2 for 24 and Valange St Ange – 2 for 38.

The St Lucians, however, did not fare well batting a second time, as they were dismissed for 97. They were undone by the bowling of Gidron Pope, who snapped up 6 for 31; Romano Pierre got 2 for 2 and Othneil Lewis 2 for 31.

Selwyn Boyce with 34 and Kester Charlmange, 20, made scores of significance.

Chasing down 102 to win, left-handed opening batsman Gidron Pope lit up proceedings with a quick-fire 33.

His departure put the Vincentians on edge, as wickets fell with regularity, before they crossed the line at 105 for 7.

St Lucia’s captain Tonius Simon with 3 for 42 and Dornan Edward – 2 for 17, threatened to bowl their team to an exciting victory, but that was not to be.

As expected, Pope was voted St Vincent and the Grenadines’ Most Valuable Player, having taken 19 wickets, the most by any Vincentian and one of the main contributors with the bat for his team.

Pope delivered 102 overs, with 29 maidens at an average of 2.05 runs per wicket.

Kester Charlmange was the St Lucian recipient of his team’s MVP award. (RT)