SESCO store up Masters Football gift
January 7, 2014
SESCO store up Masters Football gift

A & T Store SESCO Masters gift wrapped the 2013 National Lotteries Authority SVG Over 35’s Organization Football Competition last Friday night at the Victoria Park.{{more}}

SESCO’s bounty, which they carried away from the venue, included the challenge trophy, the first place trophy, gold medals and $3,000.

But in doing so, they had to do it themselves through kicks from the penalty spot and from assistance from their opponents in the finals — Computec/Comsports Vincy Masters.

Showing the steadier nerves and greater accuracy, SESCO converted three of their kicks to Computec/Comsports Vincy Masters’ one.

In the decisive kicks, Tyrone Prince, Dexter Walker and Alfred Jackman were the successful kickers for SESCO, with Carlton Dennie, the lone person to miss.

On the other end, Korbet Crick scored for Vincy Masters, while Rohan Keizer, Cornelius Huggins and Alwyn Guy were the villains, as they either shot wide or were saved by goalkeeper Clinton Williams.

The kicks from the penalty spot became necessary after both teams drew 1-1 in regulation time.

SESCO’s captain Dexter Walker, who plays for Vincy Masters in the Arnos Vale Football League, punished his “team mates” in the 20th minute, when he slotted home from close range, thanks to a lack of communication between stand-in custodian Roy Marshall and defender Christopher Harry.

Parity was restored in the second half, when Rohan Keizer waded his way through the SESCO’s defence and beat Williams.

Both teams then sought to get the winner, but to no avail, leaving the final to be determined by the kicks from the spot.

It was the second occasion in recent times in which Vincy Masters were going under by kicks from the penalty, as they lost to General Hardware Richmond Hill by the same mode.

Vincy Masters, this time around, gained the second place trophy, silver medals and $2,000.

Layou took the third place prizes of a trophy, bronze medals and $1,000, in the play-off with Sun Alliance South Leeward, which preceded the final.

The third place was also determined by kicks from the penalty spot, with Layou prevailing 3-2, after both teams had played to a 1-1 tie.

Alban Alexander netted in the 13th minute for South Leeward, but 10 minutes later, Lawrence Joseph equalised for Layou. (RT)