Ravers feast on Biabou softball cricket title
January 4, 2013
Ravers feast on Biabou softball cricket title

Ravers ended 2012 in a joyous mood, as they walked off merrily on December 23, from the Biabou Playing Field, taking with them the winner’s trophy and $1,100 for taking hold of the Biabou softball T20 cricket competition.{{more}}

Facing the firing pre-match favourites Shot Gun XI in the finals, a lower order hiccup by Ravers threw a bit of panic in their runchase, which simply added that needed competitive edge.

Ravers, chasing down 66 to win, reached the target for the loss of 7 wickets in 16.1 overs.

Andre Thomas hit a topscore of 17.

Richard Dickson — 3 for 17, and Kazim Haywood — 2 for 0, were Shot Gun XI’s most successful bowlers.

When Shot Gun XI batted, they were dismissed for 65 in 16.4 overs.

Keon Boyea led with 17.

Phillip Alvis was Ravers’ bowling hero, as he grabbed 5 for 7 — including a beaver-trick as he took 4 wickets with 4 consecutive balls — the first in the history of the competition. Ronique Warren supported with 2 for 20.

Shot Gun XI then had to be contented with the second place trophy and $700.

The previous day, Ravers got over South Rivers Wings by 7 wickets in their semi-final match-up.

Davian Barnum hit 26 to lead South Rivers Wings to 83 all out in 16.1 overs. Bowling for Ravers, Rodney Lawrence took 3 for 6, Kwasi Marks — 3 for 23 and Phillip Alvis — 2 for 11.

Andre Thomas — 48 not out — propelled Ravers’ response, as they got to 84 for 3 in 10.3 overs. Dellorn Johnson took all 3 wickets for 15 runs.

Dr Thomas Injectors took the third place, as South Rivers Wings had indicated to the organisers that they were not interested in the third place.

For placing third, Injectors will have their registration fee for the 2013 competition waived.

The brief prize-giving ceremony following the final heard that Ravers’ Recarvo Williams had scored the most runs – 198, and Kwasi Marks, also of Ravers, the most wickets — 20.

Bank of SVG All Stars’ Newbornne Joseph hit the most sixes in an innings – 15, a feat he achieved versus Biabou United.

The most sixes hit in the competition was by Shot Gun XI’s Wesley Williams, who put the ball over the boundary 17 times.

Swipe on the Go Simon Patriot was adjudged the best-dressed team and Dr Thomas Injectors, the most-disciplined team.

Pine Hill Clinchers won the inaugural competition in 2011. (RT)