February 2, 2007
Jackson takes Zepton Greaves trophy again

It was awards galore, when the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association held its 2006 awards ceremony last week Friday night at the Methodist Church Hall, but many of the recipients were not there to receive them.

The delayed ceremony, which is normally held close to end of year had been postponed because of some administrative blotches.{{more}}

Those who turned up at the venue savoured the moment. The irrepressible Orlanzo Jackson for the fourth occasion captured the Zepton Greaves trophy for his all round performance in the RBTT premier division.

Jackson had the most wickets (33) and recorded the best bowling average of 9.18 runs per wicket. The MVC Rivals player also scored 236 runs. Rommel Currency of Eat Rite Saints scored the most runs, 328, with Police Two’s Rolando Wright the best batting average 89.50.

Othneil Baptiste of winners Police Two and Dodridge Small of Victors One were the two bowlers who took seven wickets in an innings. The News Spartans duo of Nixon Mc Lean and Christian Da Silva had ten or more wickets match haul. The shortened 2006 national cricket season saw five players hitting centuries. Rivals were second and ECGC Radcliffe were third in the eight team competition.

Police also took the Bottlers first division title, with Log Masters second and Radcliffe Too and Irie Travel Packers tied for third. There were six centuries recorded in that division with the major individual honours taken by Gerald Gould and Augustine Victory.

Gould of Police Two had the best bowling average 6.86 and was the lone player to take seven wickets in an innings. He along with Jamal Jeffery and Victory captured 21 wickets each.

Victory was adjudged the best all rounder with 117 runs and was the only bowler to take ten or more wickets in a match.

The inaugural Neil Williams 20/20 tournament also saw the top performers being recognised. The tournament won by Victors One had five categories of reward. Christopher Campbell of Unique Warriors scored the most runs, 293, and hit the most boundaries 46. Gould bagged 13 wickets, but the most economical bowler was Mc Lean. The player of the finals was Victor’s Danson Andrews.

On the night of recognition Keshorn Lewis was awarded the Glenroy Durrant trophy as the Under-15 player of the year. Goaland Greaves celebrated his upward mobility in the ranks of international umpiring, and was named umpire of the year. Off the field homage was paid to Stanley Hinds who received the media award and Patmos Richards, the Dr. Kenneth Antrobus award.

Manager of the National Sports Council Osbourne Browne was given a special honour.

Addressing the ceremony were president of the SVGCA Julian Jack, Minister of Tourism Youth Affairs and Sports, Glen Beache with Barrister at Law Parnell Campbell, the feature speaker.