September 6, 2013

Students invited to apply for UK’s Chevening Scholarships

The British High Commission has announced that the UK’s Chevening Scholarships scheme for students wishing to study in the UK in the academic year 2014-2015, opened on September 1, 2013.{{more}}

Applications will be accepted online from nationals of St Vincent and the Grenadines, Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean who wish to pursue fully funded postgraduate studies at an academic institution in the UK.

The Chevening Scholarships scheme is the global scholarship programme of the British government. The scholarships are awarded to exceptional individuals with leadership potential who come from 116 countries worldwide. They enable recipients to study one-year Masters courses in a range of subjects at UK universities. The scholarships are funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and aim to support UK foreign policy priorities by creating lasting positive relationships with future leaders, influencers and decision makers.

The Chevening programme has, over 26 years, provided more than 30,000 scholarships at Higher Education Institutions in the UK for postgraduate students or researchers from countries across the world. Chevening scholarships are prestigious and sought after awards aimed at extremely capable individuals who have already made an impact and are motivated to pursue a career that will take them to a position of leadership within their own country or region.

In the Eastern Caribbean, three of the members of the St Lucia Cabinet are Chevening alumni, as well as many other leaders in business, journalism, the judiciary and government service.

Nationals of St Vincent and the Grenadines, Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean should go to to register interest or apply. The opening date was Sunday, 1 September and closing date is Friday, 8 November, after which no further applications will be accepted.

Nationals of the following countries are eligible to apply: Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados. Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, and St Vincent and the Grenadines.