January 6, 2017
2017 national cricket programme to bowl off this weekend

The national cricket programme for 2017, under the auspices of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association Inc (SVGCA), bowls off this weekend with the commencement of the National Lotteries Authority Neil Williams 20/20 competition.

Eighteen teams are scheduled to contest the competition, which begins in earnest on Sunday with two matches at the Arnos Vale One Playing Field.

From 10 a.m., defending champions FLOW Radcliffe will engage Triumph United, and from 2 p.m., last year’s defeated finalists Team Rivals face off with Victors Two.

Flow Radcliffe heads up Group One, along with Triumph United, debutants Owia Stars, Victors One, Combined Youths and Strike Eagles.

Meanwhile, Team Rivals lead Group Two, which comprises Police, Smashers, Radcliffe Too, Victors Two and another debutant – RW Sporting World SVG Community College.

And, completing the grouping are Guardian General Saints, ASCO, Bequia Cricket Association, North Leeward and Belfongo, which compose Group Three.

Following the preliminary round of competition, the two top teams from each of the groups will advance to a Super Six.

This phase will see each team engaging the others in a round robin format, with the two top teams squaring off in the grand finale.

Preceding Sunday’s matches, the 2017 season, though, will officially open on Saturday at the same venue, with a festival match between a President’s XI and a national select XI.

President of the SVGCA Inc Kishore Shallow will lead the President XI outfit, which also is made up of Miles Bascombe, Alston Bobb, Luke Browne, Denis Byam, Deighton Butler, Dyke Cato, Lindon James, Ray Jordan, Jenry Ollivierre , Kenroy Peters, Jomo Thomas, Kesrick Williams, with Samantha Lynch as coach.

Captaining the national select XI is Donwell Hector, and also named are Shaquille Browne, Kenneth Dember, Deron Greaves, Jerron John, Javid Harry, Othneil Lewis, Desron Maloney, Obed Mc Coy, Gidron Pope, Tijourn Pope and Casmond Walters. Cleton Burnett is listed as that team’s coach.

Following the exhibition match, which begins at 2 p.m., an opening ceremony will be held.(RT)