Shirla Little is new head of SVG Soroptomists
April 30, 2009
Shirla Little is new head of SVG Soroptomists

Shirla Little is the new President of the Soroptomist International St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Little’s election came following the 22nd Annual General Meeting of the Soroptomist International SVG on Saturday, 25th April, 2009, at the Methodist Church Hall. The meeting was held under the theme “Horizons Sing.”{{more}}

The Soroptomist International is a worldwide organization for women in professions who work through service projects to advance the human rights and status of women. The organization has 3000 clubs in over 124 territories.

Speaking at the meeting, Guest Speaker Michelle Fife said that in her view, Soroptomists are “women at their best, working to help others to be their best.” Fife also said that there is a need for such an organization, especially when women and girls are faced with obstacles such as domestic violence and gender issues. “The organization – Soroptomists will help to alleviate the pain and assist women who may be facing very difficult situations to overcome situations,” she said.

Fife also commented on the theme “Horizons Sing”, which she said is the true recognition of our dreams and aspirations, when they are realized.

New president Shirla Little thanked the members of the group gathered for electing her as president and placing confidence in her to execute her term well. She urged the members to embrace life in its many forms. “Life is a challenge, let us fight it. Life is an opportunity, let us take it. Life is love, let us love it,” she said.

Supporting Little on the executive are: President Elect, Christine DaSilva- DeRosa;Vice-President, Euna Thompson; Treasurer, Nicola Williams; Secretary, Saline Barbour-Stanley; Programme Action Officer, Nelcia Primus; Membership Officer, Kathryn Cyrus; Immediate Past President, Annelle Thomas; Members of Executive Committee: Hazel Roberts, Zeitha Hadaway; Representatives to Soroptimist International Caribbean Network (SICN): Christine DaSilva DeRosa. One other Representaive to the SICN will be elected later. (OS)