June 6, 2008
Bequia defeats Union to take Grenadines B-ball title

Victory was sweet for The Bequia All-Stars, who defeated the Union Island All-Stars by 12 points to claim the 2008 title of the Annual Grenadines Basketball Championship, a prize that has eluded them for three years. Coming into the final round undefeated, Bequia did not relent, as they defeated the 4th place Mustique Icon 62 to 57 in the semi-final on Saturday.{{more}} Defending champions and also three-time winners, Union Island All-stars defeated the Canouan Islanders 78 to 69 in their semi final qualifier, setting the stage for the final match-up.

It was a bitter end for the tournament, though, as Union Island failed to take the court , in the latter stages of the last quarter, as Bequia romped to a 69-57 win.

Making full use of the home court at the Clive Tannis Hardcourt, in Bequia, veteran power forward Otice Lewis, of the Bequia All-Stars, led the scoring with 19, with several impressive dunks. Union Island’s shooting guard Philmon Taylor contributed 21 points, clocking five three- pointers.

Earlier in the evening in the third place consolation final, the Mustique Icon defeated Canouan Islanders 84 to 76, with Kendall Cumberbatch netting the most points for the Icons, with 22.

Damian Harry, of Canouan Islanders, was awarded the Adonal Foyle Award, as the Tournament’s Most Valuable Player with the best overall statistics. He had an impressive average of 36.4 points per game, 8.6 rebounds. 1.6 assists and 1.4 steals per game. He also took the prize for Canouan team’s MVP, and the most points trophy for the fifth consecutive year. Union Island received the most awards, seven. Tim Adams was awarded Union’s Team MVP, while team mate Philmon Taylor took the most steals award. Veteran Leroy Scrubb and rookie Kenny Alexander, both of Union Island, were awarded two special trophies as oldest and youngest players, respectively. These awards were donated by former SVG Basketball Federation President Atiba Williams.

Other recognition of individual excellence was awarded to Owen Isaacs, of the Mayreau Kings, who was adjudged his team’s Most Valuable Player, as well as achieving the most rebounds (74) and most blocks (13), while Keylon Edwards of the Bequia All-Stars had the most assists with 12 in 5 games.

Bequia’s Most Valuable Player was adjudged to be big man center Jonas King; while Lindon Garrick, of Mustique Icon, was his team’s MVP. Carriacou’s Kareem Plentie, whose team finished in the cellar position, was adjudged the MVP for his squad.

Mayreau Kings finished fifth.