July 20, 2018
Sion Hill Tallawahs champ in Marriaqua softball

Sion Hill Tallawahs defeated Street Fighters by two wickets on Sunday at the Richland Park Oval to clinch the 2018 FLOW/ Carib Beer Marriaqua 20/20 softball cricket title.

Street Fighters reached 149 for 9 off 20 their overs. Lenroy Dalzell was the top scorer, making 32.

Bowling for Sion Hill Tallawahs, Shamic Roberts had 3 for 19 and Shanley Lavia 2 for 27.

In response, Sion Hill Tallawahs got to 155 for 8.

Teroy Baptiste stroked 22, while the main wicket-takers for Street Fighters were Brenton Arrindell, who took 2 for 18 and Lenroy Dalzell, 2 for 43.

Teroy Baptiste was the player of final.

Top wicket taker – Desro Straugh accepts his trophy from Carlton James

In the third place play-off, which preceded the final, Country Meet Town Out-Ah Trouble One beat Israel Bruce Smashers by 83 runs.

Country Meet Town Out-Ah-Trouble One scored 154 for 8 off 20-overs. Saski Weekes made 58 not out. Smashers replied with 71 for 5 off 11-overs when the match ended prematurely.

At the awards and prize giving ceremony, it was announced that Richie Richards of Country Meet Town Out-Ah Trouble One scored the most runs (235).

Deroy Straugh, also of Country Meet Town Out-Ah Trouble One had the most wickets.

Other awards went to Israel Bruce Smashers’ Dillon Woodley – best wicket Keeper, Kamarlo Caine of Street Fighters – best junior player and Javon Seales of Challengers – best all-rounder.

Seales finished with 12 wickets, and 122 runs.

First place Sion Hill Tallawahs received $2,500, with second place Street Fighters collecting $1,500.

For placing third Country Meet Town Out-Ah-Trouble One earned $700 and fourth place- Israel Bruce Smashers gained $300.

Smashers was adjudged the best dressed team, and Fairbaine Pasture, the most disciplined team.

Sixteen teams contested the inaugural competition under the aegis of the Valley Sports Committee.