Titles declared at National Cycling Championships
ZEFAL BAILEY NIPPING Cammie Adams at the finish line
June 27, 2023
Titles declared at National Cycling Championships

CAMMIE ADAMS retained his Time Trial title; Zefal Bailey took the road race of the Elite category; while Deptor Culzac and his son, Gabriel bossed the Masters and Juvenile segments, respectively, at the 2023 staging of the National Cycling Championships, on Saturday, June 17, and Sunday, June 18.

Adams made it three straight in Saturday’s 3.8 miles Time Trial, from Arnos Vale to Belvedere.


Adams’ winning time was 10:06.51, Bailey did 10:40.69, and RivasYoung 13:27.23.

Adams was unable to do the same in the 88 mile road race on Sunday, as he was nipped at the finish line at the Sion Hill Intersection by Bailey, who stopped the clock at 4:59.27.58.

Adams’ time was 4:59.28.16, whileYoung did not complete the distance.

In the process, Bailey denied Adams from making the double take, as he did in 2021 and 2022.

But, Deptor Culzac outdid his other competitor in the Master’s category-Steve Ollivierre, to take both the Time Trial and road race events.

The elder Culzac on Saturday, registered a time of 12:19.05 in the Time Trial, ahead of Ollivierre’s 12:33.20.

The same was the case in Sunday’s 44 mile road race, as Deptor Culzac won in 2:39.7.40. Ollivierre was some six minutes behind, clocking 2:45.5.76.

Meanwhile, Gabriel Culzac was the lone entrant in the Juvenile bracket.

The 15- year-old covered the distance in the Time Trial in 12:20.26 and did 2:53.40.65 in the road race. Peter Durrant who won last year’s Masters time trial did not compete, neither did the road race winner, Desron Bynoe. Also absent was last year’s lone female competitor, Amber Glasgow.

All cyclists rode off from the decommissioned E.T Joshua Airport Tarmac and headed to Orange Hill.

They returned on the same route, with the Masters heading to the finish line at the Sion Hill Intersection.

However, the Elites on their return journey, turned at the Arnos Vale Roundabout, headed back to Orange Hill, before finishing at Sion Hill.

All podium finishers in the two stages received cash prizes.