Smashers are First Division Cricket champions again
Champagne moment for Smashers as they celebrate another lien on the NLA First Division Cricket title
April 6, 2023

Smashers are First Division Cricket champions again

Smashers defeated North Windward Volcano by one wicket last Sunday, April 2, at the Arnos Vale One Playing Field to claim the Division One title in the National Lotteries Authority National Cricket Tournament.

Smashers won the toss and inserted North Windward Volcano, who made 171 all out from 39 overs.

Kirton Lavia top scored with 34.
Bowling for Smashers, Andre Hunte picked up 4 for 39, and Travis Cumberbatch had 3 for 14.

After a first wicket stance between Imran Samuel- 22, and Oswald Soleyn -73, that yielded 94, Smashers lost their way in the middle of the innings but the last wicket pair of Andre Hunte and Javid Harry kept their nerves to see them over the line.

Hunte followed up his bowling exploits to finish on 24 not out as he brought up the winning runs hitting a six off Sealron Williams.

But it was Soleyn’s knock that contained 10 fours and 2 sixes which laid the platform for Smashers.

Sealron Williams was the pick of North Windward Volcano’s bowling, capturing 5 for 38, and Dan Williams scalped 2 for 27.

Smashers thus earned the right to be promoted to the Premier Division of next year’s championships.

However, it is left to be seen if the champions will take the offer.

Smashers have won the Division One title on previous occasions, the last being in 2018 when the losing finalist was also the North Windward outfit.

Then, Smashers declined promotion to the Premier Division.