Tech/Voc Division takes the crown in Community College cricket
DTVE CELEBRATE their championship victory on Friday afternoon (photo-- Robertson S Henry)
December 20, 2022

Tech/Voc Division takes the crown in Community College cricket

It was a down to the wire finish in the final of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Community College (SVGCC) Invitational T/10 Cricket Tournament in which the Division of Technical and Vocational Education (DTVE), were crowned champions.

In the process, they dethroned the Division of Arts, Sciences and General Studies (DASGS) at the Arnos Vale Two Playing Field last Friday, December 16, the finalists being separated by seven runs.

Inserted to bat by the Division of Arts, Sciences and General Studies, the Division of Technical and Vocational Education found themselves in a precarious position at 2 wickets down for 2 runs on the scorecard after 2 as the pace of Kirtney Franklyn, and spin of Luke Wilson, made batting uncomfortable.

DTVE however weathered the storm through a well orchestrated 107-run unbroken third wicket partnership between Reyshawn Lewis who stroked 62 not out, and Marlon Williams who made 24 not out, to end on 109 for 2 after 10 overs.

In pursuit of 110 to retain their title, DASGS found the going tough at the start and were way behind the required scoring rate after four overs with only 20 runs on the scorecard and two wickets down.

However skipper, Luke Wilson with 51 not out, found a trusted partner in Kirk Hamlet who made 31, and between them 82 runs were scored in the remaining six over; but that was not enough as the DASGS fell short at 102 for 4 in 10 overs.

Reyshawn Lewis picked up 2 for 18 bowling for DTVE.

Earlier in the third place playoff, Jules Anthony Northern Stars defeated Central Strikers Youths by six wickets. Central Strikers Youth were dismissed for 43 in 6.3 overs with Embeki Lewis snatching 3 for 2.

In reply, J.A. Northern Stars reached 46 for 4 from 7.1 overs; Ojay Matthews made 22 not out. Irvin Warrican jr. took 2 for 15 bowling for Central Strikers Youth.

In the awards ceremony which followed attended by the reigning Ms SVG, and officials of the sponsors, La Vue Boutique Hotel and Beach Club, the following players were recognized:

MVP DTVE- Reyshawn Lewis.

MVP DASGS- Luke Wilson.

MVP J. A. N. Stars- Ajay Delpleche.

MVP Central Strikers- Irvin Warrican jr.

MVP BSS Warriors- Jermaine Keil.

Highest Individual Score- Kirk Hamlet of DASGS with 65 not out.

Best Figures in a match- Embeki Lewis of JANS with 3 for 2 in 2 overs.

MVP in the third place playoff – Ojay Matthews of Jules Anthony Northern Stars.

Most Runs – Reyshawn Lewis of DTVE with 144.

Most Wickets – Embeki Lewis of Jules Anthony Northern Stars with 8 wickets.

Best Fielder – Jamaar Cropper of DASGS

Best Wicketkeeper -Jomarie Dickson of DASGS.

Best All-Rounder – Ojay Matthews of JANS with 104 runs and 3 wickets.

MVP of the Final – Reyshawn Lewis of DTVE for scoring 62 not out and taking 2 for 18. MVP of the Tournament – Reyshawn Lewis of DTVE.