Sion Hill Tallawahs crowned TBPO softball Cricket champions
Dillon Douglas (center) collects Tallawahs’ trophies and winnings from Anthony Dennie (left) of the NLA and Hon. Curtis King (right), parliamentary representative for West St George
December 16, 2022

Sion Hill Tallawahs crowned TBPO softball Cricket champions

Sion Hill Tallawahs defeated H &H Oral Dental Care Clinchers by nine wickets last Sunday, December 11, at the Dauphine Playing Field, to take the crown in the 2022 National Lotteries Authority Top Belair Progressive Organisation 20/20 Softball Cricket competition.

Set 80 to win in response to Clinchers’ 79 for 9 from their 20 overs, Tallawahs rushed to 82 for 1.

Kody Horne

Dillon Douglas stroke 61 not out.

When Clinchers batted, Hyron Shallow with 23 was the best batter, as Erwin Williams scalped 6 for 11, to cop the player of the finals award.

Tallawahs got to the finals, after registering a 15- run win over Bank of SVG All Stars in the semifinal game.

Tallawahs batted first and made 98 for 7 in 15 overs, as the match was reduced because of a late start. Oznet Cato made 27 and Denson Hoyte, 24.

Bowling for All Stars, Othniel Lewis took 2 for 6 and Brenton Arrindell 2 for 18.

In reply, All Stars made 83 for 9 from their 15 overs. Alex Roberts picked off 3 for 31 and Erwin Williams had 2 for 8.

In Saturday’s other semi-final, Clinchers saw off Cole Block & Trucking Gomea Bombers by 7 wickets.

Gomea Bombers made 82 all out in 12.1 overs. Danroy Hazell, 19 had the only innings of some note.

Rakeem Lavia

For Clinchers, Leon Quashie scalped 3 for 1; Nyron Ballantyne 2 for 12 and Rakeem Lavia had 2 for 17.

In reply Clinchers reached 83 for 3 in 11.5 overs. Dill Clarke stroked 25 not out.

All Stars went on to take the third place position defeating Gomea Bombers by 157 runs.

All Stars made 199 for 9 in 20 overs. Kody Horne smashed 77 and Lenroy Danzell, 47.

Bowling for Gomea Bombers, Raymond Sayers took 2 for 36; Kentish Phillips 2 for 41 and Ovando O’Brian picked up 2 for 46.

Gomea was then shot out for 42 in 11.2 overs. For All Stars, Kellique Samuel took 3 for 12 and Rasheed Frederick 2 for 20.

At the conclusion of competition an awards ceremony was held.

Among the awards presented were for the most runs- 244 achieved by  Kody Horne of Bank of SVG All Stars.

Rakeem Lavia of Clinchers with 14 wickets, was the top wicket taker. The MVP of the tournament was Lenroy Danzel of Bank of SVG All Stars, with Denson Hoyte of Tallawahs adjudged to have taken the best catch.

AIA Reload copped the Most Disciplined team award.

The competition was blessed with two centuries, one from  Roderick  John  of All Stars who made 136 not out versus Vinlec Power Stars, and  Kirton Lavia, who hit 106 not out for Tallawahs against Challengers.