DASGS Year One- 2022 SVGCC Netball Champions
December 16, 2022
Division of Arts, Sciences and General Studies lift SVGCC Invitational netball title

The Division of Arts, Sciences and General Studies (DASGS) Year Two maintained their unbeaten run in the ECGC Islands Sipz St Vincent and the Grenadines Community College (SVGCC) Invitational Netball Competition, when they trounced the Georgetown Secondary School by a 27 goal margin last Friday, December 9, at the Villa Campus to lift the 2022 title.

This means the title returned to the tertiary institution, having lost it to the Troumaca Ontario Secondary School in 2021.

The SVGCC team dominated in all four quarters leading 9-5; 22-8; 31-16 and 44-17.

Senior St Vincent and the Grenadines player, Zanelle James registered 24 of her 30 attempts while Kylia Miller, another senior player, counted 20 of her 31.

For the runners up, Rafanique Baptiste sank 11 of her 12 shots.

Prior to the finals, the third place play off  was decided.

OVERALL MVP- Kylia Miller

In the battle for the bronze, the Barrouallie Secondary School Warriors  edged Associates Combined in a closely contested affair.The Warriors were pushed all the way 10-5, 16- 13, 25-21, in the first three quarters, but held on to trump 32-30.

In the awards ceremony following the competition Kylia Miller of DASGS Year Two was adjudged the best shooter; the best mid- court player was Jomelia Alexander of Barrouallie Secondary School; and Samaya Connell of the Georgetown Secondary School won the award for best defender.

Dianne Toney of DASGS Year Two received the MVP award for the finals, and the MVP of the Tournament was  Kyila Miller of the DASGS Year Two.

The teams’ MVP awardees were Deshonte Baptiste of the Division of Technical and Vocational Education; Olivia Castello of DASGS Year One; Deanna Williams of the Division of Teacher Education; Jomelia Alexander of Barrouallie Secondary School Warriors; Samayaa Connell of Georgetown Secondary School; Roneika Gibson of Associated Combined and Kyila Miller of DASGS Year Two.

Also presented last Friday, were the MVPs for the semi-finals, finals and third place play off.

The recipients were Samayaa Connell, semi-final one; Kylia Miller, semifinal two; Roneika Gibson, third place play off; and Diane Toney of DASGS Year Two. Toney was adjudged the MVP of the finals.