Posted on

West Indies seeking redemption in T/20 series

West Indies seeking redemption in T/20 series

Social Share

WEST INDIES WILL be looking to the T/20 format to redeem themselves after a 2-0 loss to South Africa in the Betway Test series.

After suffering an innings defeat in the first Test, West Indies went under by 158 runs in the second and final Test, which ended with a day to spare yesterday at the Daren Sammy Stadium in St Lucia.

Going into day four, West Indies needed a further 309 runs to reach their 324 target and draw the series But, the South African bowlers, led by Keshav Maharaj’s 5 for 36, inclusive of a hat-trick, saw the West Indies dismissed for 165 from 58.3 overs. Roston Chase was unable to bat because of injury.

A 64-run third-wicket partnership between Kieran Powell (51) and 34 from Kyle Mayers, held up South Africa’s march to victory.

Maharaj removed Powell with the third ball of the 37th over, then dismissed Jason Holder and Joshua Da Silva in successive balls, to complete his hat-trick.

Supporting Maharaj was Kagiso Rabada, who scalped 3 for 44.

West Indies had a whimper of a chance, when their bowlers came good in South Africa’s second innings, dismissing them for 174. Kemar Roach

picked off 4 for 52 and Kyle Mayers, 3 for 24.

Rassie van der Dussen topscored with 75 not out and Rabada contributed 40.

When the match began on Friday, South Africa, after sent into bat, rallied to 298 all out. Quinton de Kock scored 96 and Deal Elgar, 77. Bowling for the West Indies, Mayers took 3 for 28, Roach, 3 for 65 and Shannon Gabriel, 2 for 65.

In reply, West Indies made 149. Jermaine Blackwood scored 39 and Shai Hope, 43.

For South Africa, Wiaan Hulder took 3 for 1, Rabada, 2 for 24, Lungi Ngidi, 2 for 27 and Maharaj, 2 for 47.

Both teams will switch format from this Saturday at the Grenada National Stadium, as the first of the five T/20 internationals bowls off. They will meet again on Sunday, June 27, with the third slated for June 30. The fourth and fifth matches are carded for July 1 and 3, respectively.

All matches bowl off at 2 pm.