The triumphant Northern Stars and supporters celebrate their retention of the first division cricket title
August 21, 2020
Northern Stars trump first division cricket title again

Carlos James MSDA Julius Anthony Northern Stars, again took the National Lotteries Authority first division title of the national cricket programme, eking out a two-wicket win over Keegan’s Bequia XI, last Sunday at the Arnos Vale Playing Field.

O’Jay Matthews carried Northern Stars’ response on his tender shoulders

Sent in by Northern Stars, Bequia XI recovered from 61 for 7, thanks to a 67-run partnership between Dan Williams, who made 54 and Chelson Stowe, who contributed 35. Bequia XI were eventually dismissed for 160 from 34 overs.

Bowling for Northern Stars, Dorson Cottle scalped 4 for 23, while Jide John and Shangi John each picked off 3 for 35.

In reply, Northern Stars were 67 for 4, but O’ Jay Matthews and Akeil Mason added 54 for the fifth wicket, before Matthews went for 60.

Bequia XI ploughed their way back in the match, as Northern Stars lost three more wickets, at 123, 127 and 147.

However, a crucial drop catch by Jenry Ollivierre off his own bowling, did not help Bequia XI’s cause, as Jade Matthews and Jide John scored the 14 runs needed to send the Northern Stars team and their supporters in a frenzy.

Verden Baptiste had 2 for 20, bowling for Bequia XI.

Northern Stars, which also won the title in 2019, again earned the right to be promoted to the premier division.