Twenty-six attend CWI Foundation Coaching Course
Participants and facilitators in photo last Saturday at the Arnos Vale Netball Complex
October 26, 2018
Twenty-six attend CWI Foundation Coaching Course

Twenty-six persons are now better served with the fundamentals of cricket to impart to youngsters after attending a two-day Cricket West Indies (CWI) Foundation Coaching Course, last Friday and Saturday, at the Arnos Vale Sporting Complex.

A collaborative undertaking by the CWI and the St Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association Inc., the course was attended by Physical Education teachers, former and present national cricketers, employees of the Division of Sports and club coaches.

Facilitating the course were current Territorial Development Officer of St Vincent and the Grenadines and the Windwards Ian Allen and the former holder of those posts, Irvin Warrican, both nationals of St Vincent and the Grenadines.

Ian Allen (left) demonstrating a batting technique to Hazel Ann Foster, one of the course participants

The course covered areas such as introduction to coaching, how children learn, safety, motivation, play, fun, enjoyment and inclusion.

Some of the cricket specifics looked at were wicketkeeping, fielding, basic knowledge, bowling and batting.

Utilising both practical and theoretical formats, the material in the programme were expounded through group discussions, group presentations, individual presentations, group practical as well as individual displays of different coaching skills and techniques.

As a means of continuity, all participants were presented with copies of the CWI course material, along with a thumb drive.

Dr. Kishore Shallow, President of the SVGCA and a CWI Director, welcomed the initiative by the CWI in collaboration with the SVGCA, and encouraged the coaches to work towards making a positive impact on the development of the players and themselves.

The list of participants who attended the course were Stacy Ann Adams, William Edwards, Tessica Cupid, Rickie Grant, Stedroy Deane, Glendeen Turtin, Phernel Charles, Hazel-Ann Foster, Kahlil Cato, Janett Christopher, Cara Straugh, Shonica Campbell, Ronique Dowers, Michael Williams, Teron Simon, Ronnie Richardson, Nyasha Williams, Cordel Jack, Kimson Dalzell, Asif Hooper, Jeremy Layne, Romano Pierre, Ronelia Fergus, Miles Bascombe, Shevorn Clarke and Crystal John.