Meldon Ballers retain Calliaqua small-goal  football title
January 4, 2013

Meldon Ballers retain Calliaqua small-goal football title

Meldon Ballers have retained the title of champion of the annual Calliaqua New Year’s Day small-goal football competition.{{more}}

In front of an appreciative crowd at the Calliaqua Culture Pot Square Tuesday, the 2012 champions defeated Calvary Ballers 2-1 in the final to lift the winner’s trophy and most of all, the bragging rights for the next 12 months.

Meldon Ballers emerged unbeaten from the preliminary phase of the competition, which was played on a round- robin basis among the six teams.

In the semi-finals, Meldon Ballers overcame No Nonsense Ballers 1-nil from kicks from the penalty spot, after both teams had played to a 0-0 tie in the regulation 10 minutes.

Calvary Ballers got the right to meet Meldon Ballers in the final after they had edged out Dougan Boys 1-0, in the first semi-final.

In the brief presentation ceremony that followed, Osbourne Byron of Meldon Ballers collected the trophy for most goals, for his 4 goals scored in the competition.

The youthful Hadgie Ballers secured the other awards presented.

The most promising player was Osei Thompson, the most disciplined player – Isarie Caine, and the lone female participant – Kyla Ottley.

The other team in the competition was HTE Ballers.

The competition, which is into its fifth year, was administered by a committee that includes Stuart Haynes, Bert Francois, and Mc Neil Morgan. (RT)