SVG dethroned as Windwards senior cricket champions
December 11, 2012

SVG dethroned as Windwards senior cricket champions

St Vincent and the Grenadines failed to make it four in a row, when they were dethroned as champions of the senior Windwards Islands two-day cricket tournament, which ended in Dominica on Thursday.{{more}}

SVG finished third with 16 points, behind new champions St Lucia, who registered 22 points.

Dominica were second with 19 points, while Grenada finished at the back of the pack, with six points.

The Vincentians, after having to contend with a no-decision against St Lucia, earned first innings points from Dominica and Grenada.

SVG faced Grenada in their final match at Portsmouth, and needed an outright win to keep their chances alive. But that was not to be, as the match, like the previous encounters, was affected by rain.

SVG reached 256 for 6, declared. Donwell Hector was 100 not out and Alston Bobb, 34. Grenada replied with 199.

Nellon Pascal, 50; Keone George, 39; Lindon Lawrence, 38. Off-spinner Kenneth Dembar, in his debut match, snared 5 for 45; Bobb 2 for 41 and Keron Cottoy 2 for 54.

SVG, batting a second time, closed at 43 without loss. In the Vincentians’ second match versus the host, they posted 234. Miles Bascombe hit 76 and Donwell Hector 67. Ray Casimir took 5 for 90, Kevin James, 2 for 17, and Liam Sebastian, 2 for 45. In response, Dominica made 112. Dellorn Johnson finished with 5 for 36.

Asked to follow on, Dominica made 216. Kevin James made 50 and Liam Sebastian, 39. Alston Bobb snapped up 7 for 68. In snatching the title, St Lucia came from behind to defeat Dominica in their last match. Dominica batted first and made 177.

Grayson Pacquette struck 87. Emon Alexander had 4 for 24, Alex Antoine — 2 for 22, and Xavier Gabriel — 2 for 59, bowling for St Lucia.St Lucia were dismissed for 167. Shane Shillingford grabbed 4 for 17, and Liam Sebastian, 3 for 25.

Dominica in their second innings were undermined by the spin of Dalton Polius, who grabbed 8 for 25 from 13.4 overs to dismiss the home team for 102.

Jerlani Robinson hit 41. In search of 113 for victory, St Lucia were at one stage 22 for 5, but Mervin Wells, who hit 62 not out, saw his team to 114 for 8 and the 2012 title. Shane Shillingford collected 4 for 30 and Ray Casimir 4 for 35.

St Lucia had eked out first innings points over Grenada at Portsmouth in the second round of matches. Grenada, scored162, with Devon Smith making 51. Garey Mathurin took 3 for 29 and Dalton Polius 2 for 32.

St Lucia reached 169, a lead of 7 runs. Johnson Charles hit 35 and Dalton Polius 31. Denis George bagged 6 for 30.

Grenada in their second innings, posted 161. Lindon Lawrence 54, Devon Smith, 35, and Keone George 32. Dalton Polius took 5 for 45, Garey Mathurin 4 for 64.

Set 155 to win, St Lucia closed at 104 for 6, Mervin Wells 38. Nellon Pascal grabbed 3 for 24. In round one, Dominica defeated Grenada by an innings and 10 runs.

Scores: Grenada 161 and 78. Dominica 249 for 5 declared, with Tyrone Theophile making 114. Shane Shillingford finished with match figures of 10 for 89, bowling for Dominica. (RT)