August 7, 2012
South Leeward Sports Association holds prize-giving ceremony

Teams and individuals received cash prizes and trophies last Sunday evening at the presentation ceremony of the South Leeward Sports Association for the 2012 RBTT/ National Lotteries Authority, Hairoun Inter-Village sports competitions.{{more}}

The ceremony was held at the Campden Park hard court.

In the team awards, Largo Height received $800 and a trophy for winning the football competition, while Clare Valley pocketed $500 and a trophy for placing second and Ottley Hall collected $200 for their third place.

In softball cricket, first placed Health and Wellness received $800 and a trophy, with runner-up Rillan Hill receiving $500 and a trophy and Lower Campden Park $200 for their third place finish.

In the netball competition, Campden Park was first and collected $600, Valley Netters, second, received $400 and Barrouallie Co-operative Credit Union was third and pocketed $150.

Among the individual awards in football, Tevin Slater of Campden Park received the Jimmy Wilson award for scoring the most goals (8), while Camillo Samuel of Largo Height received the Dean May award for being the best goalkeeper.

Other football awards went to Odanza Dennie of Clare Valley, who received the Wayne Alexander award, as he was adjudged the best midfielder and Seymour Bailey of Largo Height, the best defender. Bailey received the Denniston Young award.

In softball cricket, Mikel Hamilton of Great House scored the most runs – 185, while Zeron Murray of Lower Campden Park captured the most wickets:12.

Yanick Williams of Lower Campden Park was the best wicketkeeper and Christopher Cordice of Health and Wellness was the overall MVP.

And, in the netball competition, former national player Genella Andrews of Campden Park scored the most goals – 181. Keisha Kirby, also of Campden Park, and who has represented St Vincent and the Grenadines at the senior level, was the best defensive player and Tamara Andrews of Campden Park the competition’s MVP.(RT)