September 13, 2011
Troumaca United champions Vinlec NL T/20 again

Carlos James Troumaca United retained the 2011 VINLEC North Leeward Twenty20 Cricket championship with a comfortable nine wicket victory over Future Legends of Rose Hall, last Sunday at the Petit Bordel Playing Field.{{more}}

Taking first strike, Future Legends got to 127 all out off 18.2 overs. Akeem Shallow was the topscorer with 32 and Peter Morris chipped in with 23.

Former national Under-19 player Emil Anthony snared 4 for 24, and current player Kenneth Dember picked up 3 for 12 and the consistent Colin Shoy 2 for 11.

Troumaca United strode to 128 for 1 off 13 overs.

Sheldon Hooper made 47, with Kishore Shallow 34 not out and senior St. Vincent and the Grenadines batsman, Atticus Browne 32 not out, safely guided their team to championship honours.

Troumaca United had to make first get past Winterset Ball Beaters, earlier on Sunday, after their intended semi final clash on Sunday had to be discontinued because of rain.

In the semi finals, which preceded Sunday’s finals, Winterset Ball Beaters posted 186 for 9 off 20 overs. Maxwell Edwards scored 71 and Omar Tucker made 44.

Kenneth Dember was the pick of Troumaca United’s bowling with 3 for 37 and Doyle Mc Allister collected 2 for 35.

In reply, Troumaca United made 190 for 1. Atticus Browne led the response with 85 not out and Kishore Shallow 65 not out.

In the brief presentation ceremony which followed last Sunday’s, the Most Wickets in the competition trophy went to Troumaca United’s Kenneth Dember who in total captured 12 scalps.

The Most Runs, 270 was made by Akeem Shallow of Future Legends. The Most Valuable Player of the Finals was adjudged to be Emil Anthony of Carlos James Troumaca United, with Peter Morris of Future Legends, the overall Most Valuable Player of the Tournament.(RT)