April 1, 2011
Keenly contested matches in National Squash finals

The Finals of the Junior National Squash Championships 2011 were played on Saturday, March 19, 2011, at the National Squash Centre, Paul’s Avenue. The spectators were treated to some keenly contested matches with players, especially the senior boys, displaying a high level of skill.{{more}}

The battle between Kai Bentick and Rashid Constance for the Boys’ Under 11 title provided much entertainment, as it required the maximum five games to determine the winner. Kai won with scores of 11-8, 7-11, 11-8, 9-11, 11-7. The Boys’ Advanced category saw arch rivals Kevin Hannaway and Jules Snagg produce a level of squash skills befitting the category in which they played. Hannaway won the first two games 11-9, 11-8, with Snagg taking the next two 11-8, 11-8, but it was Hannaway who triumphed winning the final game 11-6.

In the Boys’ Under-13, Sebastian Cyrus secured the title by defeating Storm Halbich 11-9, 11-7, 11-4.

Caribbean Under-13 champion Jason Doyle defeated Omari Wilson to take the Boys’ Under-15 Division A title.

Boys’ Under-15 B title went to Colin Franklyn who defeated Emmanuel Trotman 11-7, 6-11, 11-9, 11-9.

The Girls’ Beginner Category was won by Lauryn Doyle who defeated China Primus 11-8, 11-9, 11-8.

Thandi Myers won the Girls’ Under-13 category, defeating Lauryn Doyle 11-8, 4-11, 11-8, 11-2.

The Girls’ Advanced Category saw a keenly contested match between young rivals Demi Ollivierre and Gianna Miller-Alexander; Miller-Alexander winning in four games with scores of 6-11, 11-7, 12-10, 11-9.

The Most Improved Player was Omari Wilson and the award for Best Sportsmanship was given to Maurice Robertson.

An 11-member team was selected to represent St.Vincent and the Grenadines at the Junior OECS Squash Championships scheduled for Dominica from today, April 1st -3rd 2011. Those selected are:

Girls: Thandi Myers, Demi Ollivierre and Gianna Miller-Alexander. Boys: Kai Bentick, Sebastian Cyrus, Kevin Hannaway, Rashid Constance, Jason Doyle, Jules Snagg, Omari Wilson and Romario Constance

The team will be accompanied by Manager Janine Doyle and Coach James Bentick. Team SVG is the reigning OECS Champions.