September 17, 2010

Troumaca vs. Somerset T/20 Final

A new Vinlec North Leeward 20/20 Cricket champion will be crowned this Sunday at the Petit Bordel Playing Field.

Vying for supremacy are Somerset and Troumaca, after they both successfully navigated what their opponents had to offer last weekend.{{more}}

Troumaca defeated last year’s champion Ruddy’s Electrical by 101 runs in one of two Semi-finals last Sunday.

Troumaca batted first and scored 154 for 5 off 20 overs. Omair Jones hit 41 not out, Keshorn Shallow, 26, Doyle Mc Allister, 25 not out, and Ranjel Small, 25.

The 2009 champions Ruddy’s Electrical folded for 53 off 10 overs.

Christopher Campbell was the principal scorer with 15. Rangel Small snared 4 for 13, Kenneth Dember, 3 for 9, and Jamal Nash, 2 for 13, to give their team a final berth.

Somerset defeated last year’s losing finalist Ajuba by three wickets in the other semi-final.

Ajuba posted 145 all out off 20 overs. Reginald Jeffery led with 35, Walliston Stapleton made 30.

Orlando Charles, 2 for 15, Camron Charles, 2 for 31, and Nelson Williams, 2 for 42, bowling for Somerset, who got to 146 for 7 off 18 .4 overs. Kevin Small led the way with 43 and Dale Michael contributed 33. Jemel Jeffery took 3 for 29 and Roniel Jeffery, 2 for 20, in a losing effort.

Before that, though, Somerset had to get past Peto Crusaders in the remaining quarter final. They did so by 80 runs on Saturday.

Somerset compiled 172 for 6 off their allotment of 20 overs. Nelson Williams made 35, Kenneth Lewis, 32, and Kevin Small, 23. Allison Samuel took 2 for 9 and Ronique Laborde, 2 for 26.

In response, Peto Crusaders was dismissed for 92 in 17.2 overs. Sheldon Hooper topscored with 26, as Orlando Charles bagged 4 for 10 and Nelson Williams, 4 for 15. (RT)