Cordell Jack takes Sports Personality of the Year
April 23, 2010
Cordell Jack takes Sports Personality of the Year

The prestigious award of Sports Personality of the Year was snapped up by female cricketer Cordel Jack when the National Sports Council held the 2009 National Sports Awards last Saturday evening at the Arnos Vale Sports Complex.{{more}}

Jack, who is away on West Indies duties in St. Kitts, in preparation for the Women’s 20/20 World championships later this month, was also named the Senior Sportswoman of the Year. Jack also held on to the title of Senior Sportswoman, a title she won in the 2008 awards.

Jack, a right handed batsman and an off spinner, helped the West Indies defeat world champions England in St. Kitts last November, when she powered the regional side with 81 not out in an One Day International.

Other notable performances with both bat and ball pushed her as one of the West Indies stand out players in the One day and 20/20 internationals.

Jack, the St. Vincent and the Grenadines captain, also during the year, was part of the West Indies team to the World Women’s T/20 in Australia and a tour to South Africa which directly preceded the meetings with England. She made her debut for the West Indies in 2005.

Also making it two in a row was Basketballer Sophia Young, who was crowned the International Sports Personality of the Year.

National senior Cricket team captain, Lindon James, was adjudged the Senior Sportsman of the Year, and footballer Cornelius Stewart, who is with the Vancouver Whitecaps in the United Soccer League, is the Junior Sportsman of the Year.

Netballer Mary-Ann Fredrick was named Junior Sportswoman of the year. The Coach of the Year is Football coach Kendale Mercury. Mercury also won that award in 2008. Mercury was out of state, with System 3 in Trinidad and Tobago in the CFU club championships second round.

Team Athletics SVG was named Association of the Year.

Minston Watson was named the Groundsman of the Year, with Rohan Thomas of SEARCHLIGHT for the third year in succession, the Sports Journalist of the Year. Thomas, along with Christopher Adams and Otneil Douglas were recognized for the contributions to sports in their respective communities.

The Bank of Nova Scotia and Ruddy’s Electrical were recipients of the Firms awards.

William Iton delivered the feature address.

Other speakers were Minister of National Mobilisation, Youth and Sports Mike Browne, Manager of the National Sports Council Osbourne Browne, and Manager of the National Lotteries Authority Mc Gregor Sealey. (RT)