Gordon takes top shooter award
April 1, 2010
Gordon takes top shooter award

Gailene Gordon left the Calliaqua Harcourt last Sunday evening with the award for the most goals, as the 2010 Minors Construction Calliaqua Area Development Organisation (CADO) Netball Competition came to an end, to give focus to the Digicel National Club Tournament, which is in progress.{{more}}

Gordon, who has led this country’s national team before, shot a massive 476 goals, which was 168 more than her closet rival, Jasmine Frank, last year’s winner of the award. Frank of Gairy Construction ASCO One scored 308.

Shellisa Davis of High Park was third with 277 goals to her credit.

Gordon’s effort at the rim enabled her team Calliaqua United to place second in Division One, which earned them $350, ahead of third place Yanja Young Strugglers, who collected $200 and champion team, High Park United, who gained $500.

Gordon collected the Patricia Robinson Trophy. Robinson is a former national shooter.

But it was more than a contest, as all three top shooters should feature highly when next a senior national team is selected.

Davis was also named the Best Attacking Player. Her teammate Annella Samuel, the Best Centre Court Player, and secured the Michelle Guy Trophy.

Another emerging national player, Bownie Allicott, of ASCO One, was voted the Best Defending Player and received the Cecelia Richards Trophy. Richards was a stalwart defender in the 1980’s and 90’s and went on to be a member of the Caribbean Netball team.

In Division Two, the top shooter was Tamara Baptiste of champions, Sea Operations Nar Fren Dem. Baptiste accounted for 70 of her team’s goals. There was a tie for second place between Ana Delpeche of Nar Fen Dem and Tamesha Bute of Youth for Net. Both scored 60 goals each.

Also receiving individual trophies were the Most Valuable Players of each team.

Adjudicators, though, could not separate Karen O’Brien of Calliaqua United and the Coast Guard Netters’ Sheffika Diamond from the ‘The Spirit of the Tournament’ award, as both were winners.

As expected, Coast Guard Netters was voted the Most Disciplined Team and Youth for Net, the Most Improved Team. Youth for Net placed second in Division Two, with New Era Pepper Stars placing third.

Fifteen teams contested the two divisions of competition.(RT)