March 12, 2010
Richland Park Government again, again, again …

It was five times in a row for the Richland Park Government School, as they secured the Primary Schools Netball title last week Friday afternoon at the Kingstown Netball Centre.{{more}}

It was easy does it, as the lasses from the Marriaqua Valley displayed a higher level of knowledge of the sport, and height advantage, disposing of their opponents, the Spring Village Government 23-4.

Richland Park held a 6-0 lead at the end of the first quarter and 8-2 at the half way mark.

But the crucial third quarter proved decisive, as Richland Park scored nine unanswered goals to finish the third quarter 17-2.

Spring Village doubled their tally in the last quarter, while Richland Park added another six, and it was all over barred the shouting.

Teacher in charge of the Richland Park Government School team, Ava Robertson Weekes, admitted to SEARCHLIGHT that there was little input done from the school’s end, as the young netballers did most of the work on their own.

With most of the winning players in the ranks of Pine Hill Dairy Clinchers, that team’s manager, Pearlina Thomas, was not surprised at them winning.

Thomas, who was also on hand, said that some of the players are fresh from the Sion Hill Netball competition and are participating in the on-going Marriaqua and Calliaqua competitions.

She said that some are also preparing for the national clubs tournament set to open March 21.

It was double jubilation for the Marriaqua Valley as the Cane End Government won the third place, beating Layou Government 16-12.

Goal Attack Khadijah Williams of the champion school was top goal scorer, the Most Valuable Player of Zone A, and the Most Valuable Player of the competition.

Securing the Best Goal Average award was Avelyn Richardson, the Goal Shooter of the Owia Government.

The other zonal MVPs were Goal Attack, Delisan Stephens of Zone B winners, the Spring Village Methodist; Taniesha Scipio, a Centre from the Lowman’s Leeward Anglican in Zone D, and Langley Park Government’s Goal Defence, Maddesha Johnson, in Zone D.

Richland Park emerged winners from Zone B; the Kingstown Preparatory was champion from Zone C, and Sandy Bay Government came out on top from Zone D.

At the brief closing ceremony that followed the Final, Elford Charles of the Ministry of Education and Director of Physical Education and Sports, Nelson Hillocks gave remarks on behalf of their respective ministries.

Eighteen schools participated in the competition. (RT)