December 18, 2009
Bailey is first

Shimano Bailey became the first recipient of the title of Cyclist of the Year when the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cycling Union held its inaugural Awards and Appreciation Ceremony at the Murray’s Heights Hotel last Friday evening.{{more}}

Bailey beat the other two finalists, Senior Cyclist of the Year Albert Quammie and Master of the Year winner, Peter Durrant, in emerging as the overall winner.

Bailey won six races and placed second in nine and third in four in the twenty one events contested, to outpoint his rivals in a descending points system of seven for first, six for second, five for third, etc.

Quammie had nine first places, two seconds and three thirds, with Durrant triumphing thrice, with six second and three third places.

The 18-year-old Bailey, who is from a cycling family, also copped the Junior Cyclist of the Year award.

Bailey told SEARCHLIGHT that he was happy to win the top award.

“I am looking forward to next year, especially that I will have to compete in the seniors,” Bailey said.

The eldest sibling of the Bailey trio who received awards on the evening of recognition, Shimano wants to make good of national representation in the upcoming years.

Completing the clan, Zefal was adjudged the winner in the Tiny Mite category and Mavic, top Juvenile cyclist.

The Most Improved Cyclist award went to Kenute George. Orde Ballantyne won the category of Volunteer of the Year.

In addition to the union’s in house awards to its members, persons and firms which assisted in the successful hosting of the ninth Caribbean Cycling classic staged here in October, 2008, were presented with Certificates of Excellence for their efforts.

Presenting brief remarks were President of the SVG Cycling Union Trevor Bailey, Chairman of the National Lotteries Authority Murray Bullock and Director of Physical Education and Sports Nelson Hillocks.

The SVG Cycling Union has followed the lead set by the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association and Team Athletics SVG in hosting their internal awards, which acts as a precursor to the National Sports Awards. (RT)