May 16, 2008
Log Masters Saints take the 2007 Bottlers 1st Division cricket title

The 2007 Bottlers First Division cricket champion, Log Enterprises Masters, turned in a top performance last weekend, to stay on course to take the 2008 title.{{more}}

An eight wicket win over PKF Saints, enhanced their chances. Saints’ first innings score of 140 was led by Brensley Bobb’s 41. Elvis Browne took 4 for 31, Jimmy Sam, 2 for 4, and Montgomery Sealey, 2 for 51, restricted Saints’ batting.

The Masters replied with 259. Bradley Brooker, 77, Samuel Williams, 35, were the top performers with the bat. Bobb bagged 4 for 80 and Amral Bobb, 3 for 65.With a deficit of 119, Saints made 150 in their second innings. Kevin Jackson topscored with 53. Sylvannus Morgan, 4 for 48, and Sealey, 2 for 16, shared the bowling honours for the Masters, who reached 35 for 2.

Also gaining full points was Ruddy’s Electrical Unique Warriors. Batting first the Warriors posted 213. Rodney Lawrence hit a polished 90, Omar Williams compiled 63. Darren Greaves scooped 6 for 23.

C & J Construction ASCO was shot out for 93. Samuel Byam was the wrecker of the innings with 5 for 11 and Jenry Ollivierre, 4 for 23. And, batting a second time, ASCO fared better, posting 222. Nicholas Davis, 59, Veron Bute, 41, with Ollivierre returning figures of 5 for 73. Warriors set 103 to win, reached that target for the loss of five wickets. Lawrence hit 23, as Andre Hunte took 2 for 42.

But Smashers had to settle for first innings points over Radcliffe Two. Raydon Bentick, 69, Kareem Trotman, 53, Darren Russell, 48, Deptor Culzac, 46,Ronald Scott, 42, Kesrick Williams, 39, all combined to amass 334. Andy Harper, 2 for 19, Kamon Green, 2 for 39 and Verbert King, 2 for 63, bowling for Radcliffe. King then topscored with 56, as Radcliffe’s innings stopped at 286. Harper chipped in with 45 and Marcus Castello, 40. Russell returned with bowling figures of 4 for 66 and Kareem Peters, 4 for 41. At the close, Smashers was 121 for 7, with Bentick and Russell both scoring 30. Jabari Johnson continued his wicket taking form with 2 for 18, and Green took 2 for 37.

The lone scheduled RBTT Premier Division match between Victors One and Packers saw Victors winning by default.(RT)