December 7, 2007
Cane End dents Richland Park pride and joy

Cane End was the pride and joy of their community last Sunday afternoon when they stopped Richland Park in the final of the National Lotteries Authority Marriaqua Football League.{{more}}

It took two second half goals by the rock of the Marriaqua league, Alwyn Guy, to hand Cane End the title. Guy was too much for the Richland Park defence, and breached the otherwise safe hands of goal keeper Cosmore Toney.

Guy outran the defence to slot home the first, then tapped in the other, from a feed from long time striking partner Philbert Nanton, with Toney hapless.

Guy’s two goals pushed his aggregate to 28, and gave him the award of top goal scorer. The durable Guy, pocketed $1000. Toney was named the Most Valuable Player of the Final.

Cane End left the Cane End Playing Field $2800 richer. It was Cane End’s second title for the 2007 season, after they retained the MSA Cup.

Diverting from a trend that started three years ago, with a semi formal, indoor ceremony, the MSA held its Presentation Ceremony immediately following Sunday’s grand finale.

The Most Goals Award in the First Division was won by Nellie Dick of Glenside Ball Blazers. He stashed away $500.00.

National Under-23 footballer Amon Bascombe was named the Senior Footballer of the Year. Bascombe represented double champion, Cane End.

Kamalie James of Munich F.C captured the award of Junior Footballer of the Year.

The other prizes that were dished out saw Orande James copping the major award of Most Valuable Player of the Tournament. James, a former Munich F.C player, this year formed his own unit, Freeland United.

James led Freeland to the First Division title. Munich F.C won both the Under-13 and Under-17 Divisions.

Glenside Ball Blazers was adjudged the Most Disciplined team. They received $1000,

compliments Norris Ryan, for their exemplary conduct on the field.

Sunday’s closing ceremony also saw the distribution of prizes and awards won in the Ju-C Marriaqua Softball Cricket Competition, which ended last July. (RT)