June 2, 2006
12 teams for Masters’ 20/20

A masters cricket tournament is in the making. Some 12 teams have expressed interest in being part of this 20-overs-a-side cricket competition. If plans work out, action should start around mid June and end in August.

The winner gets $1,200, and there are incentives like Man of the Match for every game, Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the Tournament, MVP of the final, Most runs, Most wickets, and Most Disciplined team.{{more}}

The teams will be: North Windward where Brendon Child is the contact person, Central Windward with Irvin Warrican and Alfred Bynoe as pivots, Marriaqua where Elson Crick is in charge and East St. George with George Byron and Gosnel Cupid directing operations.

If you live in West St. George, get in touch with Curtis or Tommy King. Arnos Vale has its squad with Richard Todd and Ces McKie spearheading arrangements. Bradley Brooker is taking care of business in Kingstown.

Earl ‘Ole George’ Daniel is the contact person in South Leeward, and in Central Leeward Trunos Fraser and Cyril Doyle are making plans for their team’s participation.

David Porter is organising the Spring Village unit, while Cuthbert ‘Mr. Cool’ James, based in Chateaubelair is the driving force behind a North Leeward outfit. The other team is Police and Calvin Glasgow and Elvis Browne will marshal the forces.

According to the organisers, persons 40 years and over by January 1, 2007, can play.

Each team pays a $500 registration fee, which entitles them to 20 T-shirts. The teams will play in two zones. The top four from each zone advance to a Big Eight Knock Out showdown.

The inspiration for the tournament came from friendly play-offs involving teams from Spring Village, Central Leeward, North Leeward and Arnos Vale. Arnos Vale won that mini tournament last May Day at Keartons Playing Field.