April 7, 2006
Police meets Rivals in Premier Final

A new champion will be crowned in RBTT Premier Division of the national cricket competition after Victors One, the holders for the past four years, relinquished their hold on the title last weekend.

Victors engaged MVC Rivals in one of the semi-finals at the Arnos Vale One Playing Field, choosing to field after winning the toss.{{more}}

Rivals took advantage and went about their job steadily posting 320 for 9 declared.

Olanzo Jackson made 75, Nicholas Baptiste 52, with Dane Currency, a Barbadian of Vincentian parentage, and Renrick Williams both scoring 33, and Rolando Wilkinson 31.

Dodridge Small threatened to repeat a feat of three years ago when he took all ten wickets in an innings, taking the first seven wickets. But his efforts were ended with a run out and he ended with 7 for 119.

The match was reduced to a first innings affair, as Rivals chose to occupy the crease.

Jackson ran rings round a hapless Victors batting line up, which folded for 103. He snared 6 for 42, with Colin Shoy taking 2 for 5, to earn a final berth.

Police, the most consistent team in the premiership this year, crushed one time powerhouse ECGC Radcliffe by an innings and 41 runs at the Sion Hill Playing Field.

The lawmen, smarting from their record breaking total the previous weekend, batted first and scored 296. Shacky Williams was the top scorer with 53, Oneil Thomas 52, Elmore Alexander 45, Mc Leon Williams 45, and Salvan Browne 38, were the main contributors to the Police’s total.

Spinner Mahlon John enjoying another good season reaped 5 for 74, and Daniel Mc Millan 2 for 52, to share the wickets for Radcliffe.

Former St.Vincent and the Grenadines and Windwards medium fast bowler, Othneil Baptiste ripped through Radcliffe’s batting, bagging 7 for 30. Mohammed Lavia chipped in with 2 for 45, as Radcliffe crumbled for 93.

Fast bowler Dellorn Johnson hit a belligerent 35, coming in at number 8. Asked to follow on, Radcliffe’s opening pair of Delroy Johnson and Teran Harper reached 55 for the first wicket, before Alexander and Calvin Glasgow, bowling in tandem troubled the middle. Aided by poor shot selection, Radcliffe were dismissed for 162. Harper struck 38, Delroy Johnson 36, Jefloyd John 32 not out and Ozni Billingy 26, were not enough as Alexander 5 for 66 and Glasgow 4 for 17, ensured Police’s place in the much anticipated final.

The third fixture in the premiership pitted Vincom Numbgerz and Eat Rite Saints for the fifth and sixth places.

Saints took full points over their more youthful opponents.

Numbgerz were humbled at 77 in their first shot, to which Saints responded with 183. Numbgerz fared slightly better the second time around with 138. Saints knocked off the winning total, reaching 33 for no loss, winning by ten wickets.

A date for the final will be announced later.