Butler is cricketer of the year
February 3, 2006

Butler is cricketer of the year

Deighton Butler, the St.Vincent and the Grenadines, Windwards and West Indies One-Day medium left-arm fast-bowler is the 2005 Senior Cricketer of the Year.

The 31 year-old Butler earned the title at the St.Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association Presentation of Awards Ceremony, last Friday night at the Methodist Church Hall, Kingstown.

He was unavoidably absent from the function as he was on duty for the Windwards in Tobago in the regional Carib Beer Series.{{more}}

His award came as a result of his creditable performance for the West Indies in the One-Day triangular series in Sri Lanka last year.

Butler earned another call up for the One-Day series against New Zealand later this month.

Besides taking the top award, Butler was one of the Five Cricketers of the Year.

Joining him were Teron Harper, Lauron Francois, Orlanzo Jackson and Delon Johnson.

Harper, who represented the Radcliffe Two in the Ju-C First Division, recorded the highest aggregate, 374, and was one of six batsmen who hit a century in that Division.

Francois captained the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Under-19 team in the aborted Windwards competition and earned a place on Windwards team for the TCL West Indies tournament.

Johnson was a member of the national and Windwards Under-15 teams, and was listed as a member of the West Indies All Star team. The left-handed fast bowler was also named Youth Cricketer of the Year.

Orlanzo Jackson, the discarded Windwards leg-spinner, copped his sixth Cricketer of the Year award in seven years. The hard-nosed cricketer had the most wickets: 31, playing for MVC Rivals in the Premier Division. He was the lone player to take ten wickets in a match in that Division and once again took home the Zepton Greaves Trophy for his all round performance. He totalled 218 runs with the bat.

And on a night when absenteeism was a top performer, only Jackson turned up to savour his moment of recognition.

The other top performers in the First Division were Marcel Mascoll and Joseph Medford of Kayous, and Kesworth Lewis of the champions Vincom Numbgerz. Mascoll had the best batting average, 71.00, Lewis, the most wickets, 30, and Medford, the best all rounder with 219 runs and 23 wickets.

Seven bowlers took seven or more wickets in an innings, with four taking ten or more in a match.

Marlon John of ECGC Radcliffe One was the only player to take seven wickets in an innings in the RBTT Premier Division. Five batsmen recorded centuries.

The evergreen Dawnley Joseph of Spartans collected the trophy for scoring the most runs. The former St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Windwards and West Indies A team opening batsman scored 301 runs.

Harley Skerrit of MVC Rivals had the best batting average, 31, with Kenroy Peters of Eat Rite Saints turning in the best bowling average with 9.25 runs per wicket.

Victors One took the Premier Division competition for the fourth consecutive year, with Rivals docking in second and Police Two, third.

Along with the cricketers, the Association presented three honorary awards to persons who have contributed to the development of cricket.

The honourees were Carlos Veira, Lloyd Lewis and Venold Coombs. However, only Coombs was on hand to receive his plaque.

Colbert Mc Donald received the award for the most improved umpire, Julius Anthony, the Dr. Kenneth Antrobus Award for his contribution to cricket administration especially in North Leeward and E. Glenford Prescott, the media award.

President of the Association Julian Jack and Minister of Sports Glen Beache addressed the ceremony. Businessman and board member of Cricket World Cup 2007, Ormiston ‘Ken’ Boyea delivered the feature address.