December 2, 2005

Computec Irie Travel Fair Hall Falcons flying high

Computec Irie Travel Fair Hall Falcons are still basking in glory. They are the 2005 National Lotteries Top Belair Softball cricket League champion. They took the title last Saturday at the Dauphine Playing Field.

Falcons humbled favourites RSVG Police, to put their first lien on the title and jilted their opponents from doing the double. The seemingly invincible Police in their debut season in the competition posted 126 all out in 27.3 overs. {{more}}Dominic Stowe (29), and Kemilus Boyea (22) were the principal scorers.

Tight and penetrative bowling, led by Noel Carr 3 for 33, James George 2 for 12, Emroy David 2 for 19 and Ricky King 2 for 20, restricted the potent batting arsenal.

Falcons erased the total, reaching 127 for six wickets.

Falcons’ consistent batsman Alfred Mc Kenzie 23 not out, was once again his team’s topscorer. Everest Tempro and George both hit 20. George, for his all-round effort was named Man of the Final.

Javon Patrick 3 for 30 and Orlando Wright 2 for 15 were the successful bowlers for the lawmen.

Two days before, Police steamrolled CGM Novice to take the Knock Out title.

Police struck 123 for 3 led by Salvan Browne’s 42 and Renrick Cato’s 26, then wrenched Novice to 77 for 6 in their 10-over allotment.

But it was the Police team that walked away with most of the individual awards, at last Saturday’s presentation ceremony.

They collected several Man of the Match awards in both the League and KnockOut as they powered their way through both competitions.

Salvan Browne, who scored 461 runs, was the League’s leading scorer.

He was also the lone century maker in this year’s version. Browne, a former St.Vincent and the Grenadines Under -19 wicket keeper etched his name in the history books, becoming the first player to score a double century in organized softball competitions in the state. Browne hit 212 not out against Smirnoff Sugar Corner Giants.

The award for best all-rounder went to current St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Windward Islands opening batsman Romel Currency.

Playing for Gomea Bombers, Currency scored 143 runs and bagged 10 wickets for a miserly 57 runs, in his first year in the competition.

The leading wicket taker was Casey Matthews of Sea Operation Nah Fren Dem with 17 scalps.

Eldon Morris of Carib Pearl New Track Guys received the Crispin Charles trophy for the Most Promising Player.