TCL Under-19 Windies tourney begins Monday
July 29, 2005
TCL Under-19 Windies tourney begins Monday

Action in the TCL Group West Indies Under-19 Cricket Challenge tournament begins at three venues next Monday August 1.

The Windwards take on Barbados at Arnos Vale One.

Leewards and Guyana meet at Sion Hill while Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago are scheduled to play at Stubbs. {{more}}

A 14-man Windwards squad was selected last week Friday following an aborted Windward Islands Under 19 tournament here in SVG.

That tournament was abandoned before the final round owing to a breakdown in transportation arrangements for two of the teams.

The Windwards rounded up a week’s camp here following the team’s selection.

Their squad is led by St. Lucian Earven Fredericks with Grenadian Heron Campbell vice captain.

The others are Andre Fletcher, Ronald Etienne, Nelon Pascal, Trevor Walcott, Haniff Alexander (Grenada), Kevin James, Gary Daniel, Tyron Toussaint, (Dominica), Russell Emmanuel, Dalton Polius (St. Lucia), Lauron Francois and Donwell Hector, (St. Vincent and the Grenadines).

Reserves are Lyndon Lawrence, and Bronson Johnson (Grenada), Haysel Charlery (St. Lucia) and Delron Johnson (SVG).

Former Windwards’ captain Julian Charles will manage the team with Grenadian Raymond Duncan, coach. The Windwards continue their quest for the regional title against Jamaica at Sion Hill August 5 to 7.

There will be an Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) showdown when the Windwards and Leewards meet at Arnos Vale Two August 9 to 11.

The two Zone winners meet in a four day match August 13 to 16 to determine the League champion.

Matches to decide third place and fifth spot will be August 13 to 15.

The One-Day version begins August 17, with the third placed in the League playing the Sixth placed. Fourth placed takes on the team that placed fifth.

August 18, First placed team plays the winner of the Third placed and Sixth placed play off. And the Second placed team plays the winner of the second match.

Winners advance to the One-Day final scheduled for August 19 at Arnos Vale One.