Vinlec chief  slam dunks basketballers
November 26, 2004
Vinlec chief slam dunks basketballers

Vinlec’s Chief Executive Officer Thornley Myers has blasted basketball players here for their disregard for the significance of the Basketball Association’s prize giving ceremony. {{more}}

Myers last Sunday night urged the players “to treat the occasion with the pride and dignity which it deserves”, while addressing the ceremony marking the closing of the 2004 Vinlec Zonal Championships at the New Montrose Hard Court. .

The CEO was referring to the absence of many players who were supposed to receive prizes. His comments might also have been pointed towards those who were present but bluntly refused to go to the presentation area to accept their prizes.

In one instance, a player sent his daughter to receive his MVP award, while he remained seated on the team bench.

Trying to remain calm, an obviously disgusted CEO, began his remarks at 11:32 p.m. in a ceremony that was to begin following final placings. He made reference to his company’s $25 000 input, which he described as “customers money” into the staging of the championship.

Myers shied away from committing sponsorship of future championships, but reiterated, “You (the players) have to show enthusiasm, as we want to continue to support basketball”.

He also took a dig at the Association which boasted of having 47 players on scholarships, saying he believed developments should be all round.

Myers disclosed that from time to time during the championship, he visited the venue and was aware of some of the problems.

The 2004 version of this tournament, like previous ones, was plagued with obstacles, including late arrivals of teams, referees and table officials.

The Association’s president, Atiba Williams resigned during the championship, while other executive members failed to carry out their duties.

But for Terrance McBarnett Ball Dawgs, the ceremony was an auspicious occasion, as they lifted the Premier Division title after they beat Square Deal Shippers Calliaqua United 87-78 in the final.

Oral Roberts of the champions team was named Most Valuable Player in the final.