Retired West Indies cricketers among 14 to receive honorary degrees from UWI
Press Release
August 20, 2021
Retired West Indies cricketers among 14 to receive honorary degrees from UWI

The University of the West Indies (The UWI) will present honorary degrees to 14 eminent persons at its 2021 graduation ceremonies for their outstanding contributions to regional and international development.

The UWI retains this annual tradition of the conferral of honorary degrees even as some of its graduations are expected to again be held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this time during the customary ‘graduation season’ of October-November, a release from the UWI states.

Nominations from across The UWI’s five campuses were approved by the University Council, at its sitting on April 30, 2021. These 2021 graduands will join a list of over 450 honorary degree recipients conferred by the regional University since 1965.

Last month, a special convocation was permitted to confer an Honorary Doctor of Science degree (DSc) on Dr Ruby Lake-Richards, one of the first 33 medical students who attended The UWI (then University College of the West Indies). Now 99 years old, she is also the first female, UWI graduate from Antigua and Barbuda. The ceremony hosted by The UWI Five Islands marked the first honorary degree awarded at the University’s newest campus. In September, another special convocation will be held for the conferral of a Doctor of Laws on Dame Sandra Prunella Mason, GCMG, DA, QC, Governor-General of Barbados.

The schedule for the 2021 graduation and list of the 14 honorary graduands’ conferrals at those ceremonies are as follows:

On October 10 at Five Islands Campus, the honorary graduands are: Dr George A. Mansoor (Physician, Educator and Entre preneur) who will be conferred Doctor of Science (DSc); and former West Indies cricketer, Sir Anderson Montgomery Everton Roberts who will receive the Doctor of Laws (LLD).

At the Open Campus on October 16, George S. Willie, CPA, CGMA, CGFM (International Auditor, Leader and Philanthropist) will be conferred the Doctor of Laws (LLD).

On Saturday October 23 at the Cave Hill Campus, the honorary graduands are Nicholas Brancker (Musician, Reggae Producer) who will receive the Doctor of Letters (DLitt); Sir Cuthbert Gordon Greenidge, KCMG, MBE (Former Cricketer) – Doctor of Laws (LLD); and Desmond Leo Haynes (Former Cricketer) who will be conferred the Doctor of Laws (LLD).

Between October 28-30 at the Augustine Campus, the honorary Graduands are Ray Anthony Holman (Musician, Educator) – Doctor of Letters (DLitt); Dr Roshan A. Parasram (Medical Practitioner) – Doctor of Science (DSc); Sieunarine Persad Coosal (Entrepreneur, Philanthropist) – Doctor of Laws (LLD); Lynette Seebaran-Suite (Attorney at Law) – Doctor of Laws (LLD).

At the Mona Campus on November 4-5, the honorary Graduands are Alia Shanee Atkinson, CD (Sport Icon) – Doctor of Laws (LLD); Gary ‘Butch’ Craig Hendrickson (Philanthropist) – Doctor of Laws (LLD); Linton Kwesi Johnson (Poet) – Doctor of Letters (DLitt); and Oliver Adolphus Samuels, OD, CD (Cultural Icon) – Doctor of Letters (DLitt).