Press Release
November 13, 2020
Two Vincentians among 14 to receive honorary doctorates from UWI

Two Vincentians are among 14 persons upon whom the University of the West Indies (The UWI) will confer honorary degrees at its 2020 graduation ceremonies.

Franklyn McIntosh and Professor Edgar Julian Duncan of St Vincent and the Grenadines will receive their awards at ceremonies which are scheduled to take place from January 11–16, 2021, in a mix of blended, virtual formats and which will celebrate a graduating class of approximately 8500 students across the region.

McIntosh will receive the Doctor of Letters (DLitt) for his work as a Musical Director/Composer, while Duncan will be awarded with a Doctor of Science (DSc) degree for his contributions to Caribbean Science and Agriculture.

The awards were approved by the University Council, which has sanctioned over 500 honorary degrees since 1965.

The other 2020 honorary graduands to be recognised for their outstanding contributions to regional and international development are: Sonita Alleyne of Barbados for Entrepreneurship and contributions to Journalism – Doctor of Letters (DLitt); Professor Juliet M. Daniel of Barbados for her work in Medicine and Cancer research – Doctor of Science (DSc); Dr. Julio Frenk of the USA for Leadership in the field of Medicine – Doctor of Science (DSc); Dr. Sir Kennedy Alphonse Simmonds of St. Kitts and Nevis for Public Service leadership – Doctor of Science (DSc); Glen Christian of Jamaica for Entrepreneurship – Doctor of Laws (LLD); Sir Rodney Errey Lawrence Williams of Antigua and Barbuda for Medicine and Public Service – Doctor of Science (DSc); Robert E. Levy of Jamaica for Entrepreneurship – Doctor of Laws (LLD); Professor E. Albert Reece of Jamaica/USA for leadership in the field of Medicine – Doctor of Science (DSc); Hilary Grace Sherlock of Jamaica for her work in Special Disabilities Education – Doctor of Laws (LLD); Paul Keens-Douglas of Trinidad and Tobago for his work in Culture and the Arts – Doctor of Letters (DLitt) ; Dominico Felipe Martina of Curacao for Public Service leadership – Doctor of Laws (LLD); Len ‘Boogsie’ Sharpe of Trinidad and Tobago for steelpan arrangement, composition, and performance – Doctor of Letters (DLitt)