ECTEL hosts Council of Ministers Meeting in SVG
February 7, 2023

ECTEL hosts Council of Ministers Meeting in SVG

The Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority (ECTEL) hosted its first in- person Council of Ministers (COM) meeting since the COVID-19 pandemic on February 3, in St Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG).

The 44th COM meeting was a hybrid event held online via the zoom platform and face to face in SVG, chaired by the new Chair, Minister of Finance, and Technology, Camillo Gonsalves.

In October, 2022 Minister Gonsalves officially took over the chairmanship from his predecessor, Stephenson King, senior Minister and Minister of Infrastructure, Ports, Transport, Physical Development and Urban Renewal of Saint Lucia. The chairmanship is rotated annually among the ministers with responsibility for electronic communications in ECTEL Member States.

A release from ECTEL states that the main agenda items included approval of the Directorate’s work plan for October, 2022 to September, 2023, and the approval of the consolidated budget for ECTEL and the National Telecommunications and Regulatory Commissions (NTRCs) consolidated budget for October, 2022 to September, 2023. The Ministers were also given an update of the status of the Electronic Communications Bill in the Member States.

The Council of Ministers comprises the Ministers responsible for Telecommunications in ECTEL Member States and the director general of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS), who is an ex-officio member. Their responsibilities include giving directives to the Board of Directors on matters arising out of the
Treaty, and ensuring that the Board is responsive to the needs of the Member States in the implementation of telecommunications policy.

ECTEL has been the regional regulatory body advising the NTRCs on electronic communications matters in its five Member States namely; the Commonwealth of Dominica,
Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines since May 4, 2000.