Joint installation of Lions and Leo Clubs of St Vincent South
July 23, 2013

Joint installation of Lions and Leo Clubs of St Vincent South

The Lions Club St Vincent South hosted a joint installation ceremony for its new board with their newly formed Leo Club of St Vincent South on July 20 at the Lions Den, Enhams.{{more}}

The ceremony featured much pomp and ceremony, as the Lions were truly happy to be sharing the spotlight for the first time with their Leos.

Ronald Christopher was for the second consecutive year installed as club president, while Dionne John, who was voted as the most outstanding secretary of the Zone, was returned as secretary, as well as Michael John, who will serve as first vice president/treasurer.

Timora Peters was elected to serve as president of the Leo Club St Vincent South, with Cameisha Antoine as secretary, Eben Wilkins as vice president and Shannique Alexander as treasurer.

Outgoing president of the Leo Club St Vincent South Antionette Browne said she was “pleased with the level of commitment displayed by the Leos as a newly formed club and this resulted in the recognitions they received at both the Zone and District levels”.

Meanwhile in his acceptance speech, president Ronald spoke of the many accolades the club received at the Zone, Region and District levels. He says as president he “felt good” when he heard the announcements of his Lions and Club receiving most of the awards distributed and shortly after to hear that three Lions were elected to serve on the District Cabinet and one as associate chair. “No doubt this is testimony of the outstanding work of the club over the last year”.

He further explained that while the Club pledges its commitment to continue its work and projects in the new lionistic year, they are mindful of the herculean task ahead for the ushering of Lion Isaac as District Governor in 2014, a significant milestone, not only for the Club but for the country as well.

Among the other highlights of Saturday’s ceremony was the induction of prospective Leo Wonlyn Lewis as the newest member of the Leo Club St Vincent South by Region chair Lion Junior Bacchus MJF.

Similarly awards were distributed to Leo Martin Sheen for Leo of the Year and Lion Dionne for outstanding duties as secretary for the year and as Lion of the Year.

The installation ceremony was performed by First District Governor and Club member Lion Isaac Solomon, MJF. The newly installed boards will run the affairs of the Lions and Leo Clubs for the 2013- 2014 Lionistic year.