June 25, 2013

23 finalists to battle for Power and Ragga Soca crowns

The stage is set. The 23 finalists have been selected, and on July 6, the defending Power and Ragga Soca monarchs will each have to bring their “A” game in order to keep their crowns.{{more}}

Last Friday, the Carnival Development Corporation (CDC) revealed the names of the finalists who will be competing at this year’s Soca Monarch (Ragga and Power) competition to be held at Victoria Park, Carnival City.

Last year’s Soca Monarch winner, Gamal “Skinny Fabulous” Doyle, may have to unleash a category five hurricane performance, as the CDC has selected 14 soca artistes to try to dethrone the four-time Soca Monarch champion.

Also included in this year’s line-up is Doyle’s arch rival Delroy “Fireman” Hooper, who did not compete last year.

The list is as follows: Delroy “Fireman” Hooper — Undertaker 21; Lornette “Fya Empress” Nedd – Earthquake; James “Jamesy P” Morgan – Paranormal; Shertz “Problem Child” James – Riot; Orlando “Syxx” Foster — Carnival Slave; Hance John — Hell Yuh Want; Bruce “Steady Gan” Vincent — Super Natural; Shaunelle Mc Kenzie — Carry On; Raeon “Fete King Madzart” Primus — Bobow/Muda Wuk; Eddison “Lively” Mc Dowall — Skin Out; Tamisha Nicholls-Lewis — Zero Tolerance; Johnny “Johnny Rebel” Hall – Rebellious; Keith Currency — Pat it and Ryan “Royal” Abraham — Mad Anthem.

Meanwhile, after winning last year’s Ragga Soca Monarch with “Bam Bam Talk”, Lornette “Fya Empress” Nedd-Reid will this year seek to defend her crown against the top nine selected.

These artistes are: Shernelle “Skarpyon” Williams — Hammer & Conchs; Shaunelle Mc Kenzie — Up in dat; Orande “Bomani” Charles — Wine for your life; Hance John — Sunrise; Tamisha Nicholls Lewis — Vincy Whining Boss; Danielle “Daneel” Veira — Till Dawn; Johnny “Johnny Rebel” Hall — Patruna; Raeon “Fete King Madzart” Primus — Light Up the Sky and Recardo “Recka” Wilson and Maxwell “Tajoe” Francis — Butt me with respect. (AA)