September 2, 2011
Sir Dennis Byron is new President of CCJ

Sir Charles Michael Dennis Byron has been sworn in as the President of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ).{{more}}

The swearing-in, which took place yesterday, Thursday, September 1, in St. Kitts, was expected to have been witnessed by the President of the Commonwealth of Dominica, Dr. Nicholas Liverpool; Prime Minister of Belize, Dean Barrow, and Antigua and Barbuda’s Prime Minister Baldwin Spencer.

Sir Dennis, who is Kittitian, took his oath at Government House, Springfield, St. Kitts, in the presence of Chief Justices of the OECS, Jamaica, the Bahamas, Belize and Trinidad and Tobago, and Barbados; the Chancellor of the Judiciary in Guyana, Attorneys General from across Caribbean, scores of judges, barristers, friends and family members.

The ceremony began with the Invocation by the Reverend Dr. Wycherley Gumbs, Superintendent Minister of the St. Kitts Circuit of the Methodist Church of the Caribbean and the Americas.

Mr. Justice Michael de la Bastide, TC, Outgoing President of the Caribbean Court of Justice, passed the mantle during his remarks.

This was followed by greetings by the Honourable Dr. Denzil Llewellyn Douglas, Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis and current Chairman of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

Following a musical selection titled “The Caribbean Court of Justice” performed by Range, Mr. Justice Adrian Saunders, Judge of the Caribbean Court of Justice introduced Sir Dennis, who was administered the Oath of Office by Governor General of St. Kitts and Nevis, Sir Cuthbert Sebastian.

The presentation of the Seal of the Court was presented by Paula Pierre, Registrar of the Caribbean Court of Justice.

Sir Dennis was then expected to address the over 500 invited guests, as well as persons in the radio and television audience.