December 23, 2010
First sitting of new Parliament

The first sitting of the new session of Parliament will be held on Wednesday, December 29.{{more}}

This was disclosed by Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves in a short interview with SEARCHLIGHT on Tuesday.

The Unity Labour Party (ULP) was returned to office for a third successive term on December 13, and at a swearing-in ceremony on December 19, Gonsalves named the members of his Cabinet and the Government’s four appointed Senators.

Senators Julian Francis, Douglas Slater, Elvis Charles and David Browne will join the 8 elected parliamentary representatives on the government benches in Parliament.

The eight elected representatives are: Montgomery Daniel (North Windward), Ralph Gonsalves (North Central Windward), Saboto Caesar (South Central Windward), Frederick Stevenson (South Windward), Girlyn Miguel (Marriaqua), Clayton Burgin (East St. George), Cecil McKie (West St George) and Maxwell Charles (Central Leeward).

The ULP narrowly won the New Democratic Party (NDP) 8 seats to 7. The ULP secured 32,099 or 50.96% of the popular vote, while the NDP won 30,568 or 48.53% of the vote.

Up to press time, Leader of the Opposition Arnhim Eustace had not named the Opposition’s two senators, who will bring the number of persons on the opposition benches to nine.

The seven elected members of Parliament in Opposition are: Arnhim Eustace (East Kingstown), St. Claire Leacock (Central Kingstown), Daniel Cummings (West Kingstown), Nigel Stephenson (South Leeward), Roland Matthews (North Leeward), Godwin Friday (Northern Grenadines), and Terrance Ollivierre (Southern Grenadines).

The Estimates and Budget for the 2011 year will be presented in January, the Prime Minister said.