October 15, 2010
ECCB launches 2011 OECS Essay Competition

Students aged 14-19 throughout the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU) will have six topics from which to choose for the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank’s 11th Annual OECS Essay Competition.{{more}}

The topics were selected from submissions by representatives from the public and private sectors within the ECCU. Students will write on one of the following:

1. Are we doing enough to promote sustainable use of our local products and natural resources, and in so doing promote self-sufficiency in the OECS?

2. The role of entrepreneurship and private sector development in the growth of the region’s economies: What is being done and what more can be done to facilitate the growth of entrepreneurship and private sector development in the region?

3. The impact of the global economic crisis on developing countries. What lessons should OECS member countries take from this experience?

4. Financial markets play a key role in the development of the economies of the OECS.

5. In order for the OECS countries to attain sustainable economic growth, the region must shift its emphasis to new knowledge creation, research and development, and entrepreneurship.

6. What steps can OECS governments take to improve the global competitiveness of the OECS tourism industry?

The essays must be between 750 to 1000 words, and must be type written. They will be assessed for content, soundness of points, logical development, knowledge of the subject, command of language and presentation.

Entries for the 2011 competition will be judged in two categories: ages 14 to 16 and ages 17 to 19. The first place winners in each category will be awarded $2,500, while the second and third place winners will receive $1,500 and $1,000, respectively. Grants amounting to $7,000 will also be awarded to the winning schools.

The essays for the 2011 OECS Essay Competition must be submitted to the ECCB Headquarters or the Bank’s Agency Office in the respective member countries no later than 31 March, 2011.